Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Department of Music

Faculty and Staff Listing

Dr. Rebecca Johnson, Flute

Office: 2415 - Doudna Fine Arts Center
Phone: 217-581-3010
Fax: 217-581-7137

Flutist Rebecca Johnson has been on the faculty of Eastern Illinois University since 2007, and is a member of the chamber orchestra Sinfonia da Camera. Internationally, she has performed and taught at the Convención Internacionál de las Flautistas in Quito, Ecuador, each year since 2009.  She was first involved in the National Flute Association the Assistant Program Chair for the 2008 convention, and served as the Exhibitor Concert and Showcase Coordinator from 2008-2013. She is currently serving the organization as the Secretary of the Board of Directors. She has been invited to play at consecutive NFA conventions since 2010.
The last few years have brought exciting new projects for Dr. Johnson. She presented a lecture recital about flute and clarinet chamber music at the Midwest Clinic in Chicago in December 2012 with clarinetist Magie Smith. Also in 2012, She presented a lecture about the music of composer Thea Musgrave at the British Flute Society convention in Manchester, England and performed a recital of music for flute and horn with hornist Katherine McBain at the International Women’s Brass Conference. Drs. Johnson and Smith played a series of concerts throughout the central U.S. in 2015, including a concert at the Chicago Flute Club festival. Additionally, Dr. Johnson has recently made guest artist appearances at Millikin University, Bradley University, Ohio Northern University, Penn State University, the University of Louisville, and the University of Kentucky.

Dr. Johnson was a Rotary International Ambassadorial Scholar for the 2002-2003 academic year, which provided the opportunity to study at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, England where she studied with renowned flutist Peter Lloyd. She holds degrees from the University of Illinois (DMA, 2010), the University of Louisville (MM, 2006), the Royal Northern College of Music (PGDip, PPRNCM, 2003) and the University of Northern Iowa (BM, 2002). Her major teachers include Dianne Aboud, Angeleita Floyd, Kathleen Karr, Jonathan Keeble and Peter Lloyd.  



D.M.A., University of Illinois
M.M., University of Louisville
P.G.Dip, Royal Northern College of Music
PPRNCM, Royal Northern College of Music
B.M., University of Northern Iowa

Faculty/Staff Login to Update Info

Related Pages

Contact Information

Music Department

Doudna Fine Arts Center
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit

Give to EIU

Every gift made to Eastern Illinois University -- whether it's big or small -- makes a difference. EIU's generous donors are helping our students fulfill their dreams every day, and you can be part of that.

Learn more about how to make your contribution today!