Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Department of Department of Music

Department of Music


Mission Statement:

The Department of Music provides leadership within the University and the region in all matters pertaining to musical art and to music through its accredited undergraduate and graduate programs. Faculty instruct and inspire those whose professional goals include the creation, performance, critical assessment, and teaching of music. In addition, courses are offered to the general student body to enhance appreciation and understanding of all musicsThe Department makes available ongoing music learning and performance experiences to the university community and area residents of all ages. Faculty provide service as adjudicators, clinicians, guest conductors, and consultants and through outreach programs to area schools and to other educational and professional organizations. The Department and its faculty contribute to the cultural life of the university and community through the performance and sponsorship of frequent and various concerts and recitals of live music.   (updated spring 2015)


Diversity Statement:

The EIU Department of Music is committed to championing diversity, welcoming all people, and advancing inclusivity and equity for all. Faculty and students assert that music belongs to everyone and affirm that music is a fundamental aspect of shared human experiences. As such, we pledge to promote active music making merged with intentionally respectful practices as the basis of comprehensive music education. We welcome people of all races, ethnicities, religions, creeds, national origins, gender identities, sexual identity, physical abilities, ages, and social, economic, and educational backgrounds. We celebrate our differences because they allow us to grow and create in a vibrant, inclusive community.  (adopted fall 2023)

Land Acknowledgement:

Eastern Illinois University is located on the ancestral homelands of many tribes that resided on or migrated through this land for generations. We recognize and honor the land upon which we gather to engage in music learning, teaching, performing, and creating as part of the traditional territory of Native American peoples: the Peewaareews (Peoria), Kaahkaahkia (Kaskaskia), Peeyankihšiaki (Piankashaw), Waayaahtanwa (Wea), Myaamiaki (Miami), Mascoutin, Odawa (Ottawa), Sauk (Othâkîwa), Meshkwahkihaki (Mesquaki), Kiwikapawa (Kickapoo), Bodéwadmi (Potawatomi), Anishinaabe (Ojibwa), Mamaceqtaw (Menomonee), and Hoocąk-waaziija-hači (Winnebago) peoples. We take this opportunity to thank the people upon whose ancestral lands the EIU Department of Music is currently located.  (adopted fall 2023).



Related Pages

Contact Information

Music Department

Doudna Fine Arts Center
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit