Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Pine Honors College

Honors Council

The primary advisory body to the Dean of the Honors College, the Honors Council is composed of faculty, staff, chairs, and students from across campus.

Its primary duties, as taken from its bylaws, are to act, or suggest on proposals, with regard to:

Policies and procedures governing curricula for all Honors programs,

Addition of new Honors courses,

Modification, or deletion, of Honors courses,

Addition of new Honors programs,

Modification, or deletion, of Honors programs, and

Recommendations from the Council on Academic Affairs (CAA) or Council on Teacher Education (COTE) concerning academic policies or general education.

Additionally, the Honors Council reviews and evaluates all Presidential Scholarship applications and makes recommendations as to their funding.


Qualities of Honors Courses and Honors Faculty

The qualities of Honors Courses and Honors Faculty have been reviewed by the Honors Council and are in keeping with recommendations proposed by the National Collegiate Honors Council for universities that have Honors Colleges.

Qualities of Honors Courses (pdf document)

Qualities of Honors Faculty (pdf document)



The bylaws of the Honors Council are reviewed annually.  The most recent version is posted here.



Members of the Honors Council generally serve staggered three-year terms and may be re-elected once before they must sit out for at least one-year.  The Honors Council is composed of two faculty from each academic college (College of Arts & Humanities - CAH, College of Sciences - COS, College of Education and Professional Studies - CEPS, and the Lumpkin College of Business and Applied Sciences - LCBAS), two departmental chairs (one from at least CAH or COS), the faculty instructor of HON 1191, two staff members (from Academic Affairs or Student Affairs), and two Honors Students from two different colleges.  The Dean of the Honors College and Assistant Dean of the Honors College are ex officio members of the council. 

Current Members

Council Member Capacity Term Ends Phone Number Email
Mr. Steve Brantley Professor & Head, Research, Engagement, & Scholarship, Booth Library 2021  217-581-6072 
Dr. Christiane Eydt-Beebe Chair, World Languages and Cultures - Liberal Arts & Sciences 2021 5562 ckeydt
Dr. Melinda Mueller Chair, Political Science - Liberal Arts & Sciences  2022  2523  mamueller 
Dr. Christina Edmonds-Behrend Faculty, Special Education - College of Education  2021 5315 credmondsbehrend
Dr. Sam Fagaly Faculty, Music - CLAS 2019 6628  swfagaly
Dr. Gopal Periyannan Faculty, Chemistry and Biochemistry - CLAS 2021 6379  grperiyannan
Dr. CC Wharram Director, Humanities Center - CLAS 2021   ccwharram
Dr. Stu Sallehu Faculty, College of Business 2021 7244 mmsallehu
Dr. Angela Anthony  Faculty, Communication Disorders and Sciences - College of Health and Human Services 2022  7445  abanthony 
Mr. Jody Stone  Staff, Senior Associate Director, Residential Life  2022 2515 keystone 
Ms. Brittany Tierney Staff, Associate Director of Admissions 2022 7520 bmtierney
Ms. Sienna Mark Student 2020    ssmark 
Mr. Seth Yeakel Student 2020   swyeakel 
Dr. Richard England, ex officio Dean, Honors College   2017 rengland
Dr. Suzie Park, ex officio Assistant Dean, Honors College   2017 sapark



Related Pages

Contact Information

Sandra and Jack Pine Honors College

Pemberton Hall South
600 Lincoln Avenue
Charleston, IL 61920
(217) 581-2017
(888) 440-4664
Fax: (217) 581-7222

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit

Give to EIU

Every gift made to Eastern Illinois University -- whether it's big or small -- makes a difference. EIU's generous donors are helping our students fulfill their dreams every day, and you can be part of that.

Learn more about how to make your contribution today!