Eastern Illinois University Logo
Graduate School |



Prospective Students


Current Students

Accelerated Graduate Programs

Graduate Assistantships

Faculty and Staff


EIU Innovate- Listen to our Podcasts

Give a Gift

2019 Graduate Expo

Integrative Graduate Studies Institute

EIU Campus Tree Care Plan

Contact Us


Outstanding Graduate Alumni Awards

On Friday, April 6, 2018, the Graduate School and the Graduate Alumni Advisory Board welcomed back nine graduate alumni celebrating their induction to the 2018 Class of Outstanding Graduate Alumni.

Alumni were nominated by graduate programs and were selected by the Graduate Alumni Advisory Board.

The 2018 Class of Outstanding Graduate Alumni along with EIU administrators pictured above: Honored alumni in the front row:  Jeff Pellaton, '78, '79, (music); John Yost, '99, '01; Tammi Clancy, '00,'03 (family and consumer sciences); Adam Bange, '92, '93 (nutrition and dietetics); Jennifer Roder,''93, '94 (economics); Mercy Davison, '97 (political science); Ike Nwosu, '06 (biological sciences) Back row: Dean Bill Minnis, Lumpkin College of Business and Applied Sciences; Dean Anita Shelton, College of Arts and Humanities; President David Glassman; Provost Jay Gatrell; Associate Dean Mike Cornebise, College of Sciences; Associate Dean Jeanne Lord, Lumpkin College of Business and Applied Sciences; Dean Ryan Hendrickson, Graduate School.

Outstanding Grad Alumni Awards Programs

To view biographies of this year's honorees as well as those of the past, see the links below. If you would like to submit your name for consideration for this award or would like to reconnect with other graduate alumni, please e-mail graduate@eiu.edu or visit our Facebook page.
To submit a nomination for the Outstanding Graduate Alumni Award: http://www.eiu.edu/graduate/pdf/Outstanding_Alumni_Nomination_Form.pdf

2018 2017 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006

50 Years of Graduate Education

Graduate Alumni Advisory Board

The mission of the Graduate Alumni Advisory Board is to promote superior graduate study through philanthropic and alumni programs that advance the mission of graduate education at Eastern Illinois University.

The vision of the Graduate School Alumni Advisory Board is to offer superior graduate alumni programs that achieve the Board’s philanthropy goals resulting in awards that attract the finest graduate scholars to Eastern Illinois University.


  • Jim Arndt, '01, '03
  • Dwight Baptist, '51, '52
  • Craig Gatto, Ph.D., '87, '89
  • Marilyn Holt, '88, '94
  • Nancie King Mertz, '77
  • Mark Kasper, Ed.D., '83, '86
  • Walter Knollenberg, '67, '72
  • Linda Komes, '74
  • Kathy Pendleton, Ph.D., '79, '80
  • Norm Plummer, '71, '72


Check out graduate alumni featured in EIU's online magazine EIU360


Nancie King Mertz, '77


Chris Carron, '86


Jeremie Smith, '05, '13


Frankie Flood, '98, '00


Justin Miller, '02, '03


Dan Rogers, '92