Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Housing


University Court, formerly known as Regency Apartments, was purchased by the university for $3.9 million in 1990. U-Court is an excellent place for students seeking an off-campus living environment, while maintaining the security of on-campus accommodations.

University Court is comprised of 11 buildings and located on the south end of campus. Each three-story apartment building in the complex is made up of one and two bedroom apartments that allow for one to four occupants. Apartments offer students a full kitchen and dining area, family room, along with one or one and a half bathrooms. The complex also offers an on-site swimming pool and laundry facilities in each building. University Court is made up of 146 apartments and can house up to 570 students.  U-Court is popular among sophomores through graduate students attending Eastern Illinois University.

In addition to a central office, buildings comprising University Court include Bloomfield, Cooper, Elliott, Gabbard, Giffin, Hampton, Lancaster, Ringenberg, Saunders, and Yorkshire. Six of the buildings located in University Court were named in honor of Eastern faculty members. The Daily Eastern News reported on October 19, 1990 that the Board of Governors approved the six buildings closest to Ninth Street be dedicated to retiring faculty members.

Cooper Hall: Named for George Cooper, who taught in the Department of Business Education and Administration and served as chair from 1962 to 1973. Mr. Cooper retired from teaching in 1982.

Elliott Hall: Named for Charles Elliott who served on EIU’s faculty for 28 years in the School of Technology. He also served as the university’s representative in the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Gabbard Hall: Named for E. Glendon Gabbard and his wife, Luciana. Mr. Gabbard taught in the theatre arts and established the department in 1964, serving as chair in 1969. Mrs. Gabbard taught in the English Department from 1968 to the time of both her and Mr. Gabbard’s retirement in 1984.

Giffin Hall: Named for James Giffin, the first Dean of EIU’s College of Business.

Saunders Hall: Named for James Saunders, former instructor in the Journalism Department and former faculty advisor for Minority Today.

Ringenberg Hall: Named for Lawrence A. Ringenberg, the first Dean of Arts and Sciences at EIU, serving from 1961-1980.

Related Pages

Contact Information

Housing & Dining Services

MLK Jr., University Union,
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-6489

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit