Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...
Close

History

Close

Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU New Student and Family Programs

Freshman Event Information

We are so happy your student has chosen Eastern Illinois University to call their new home! New Student and Family Programs wants to do all we can do to help students learn to navigate campus and connect to the university. New Student and Family Programs provides two programs (participation for students is mandatory) to help with the transition:

Part 1: Orientation, Advisement & Registration

Your student's success at EIU is determined not only by the quality of their academic work, but also by how quickly they connect to the campus. 

Students will attend our Orientation, Advisement & Registration program to complete several important steps:

  • Learn about academic degree requirements (specific majors require mandatory testing)
  • Meet with an academic advisor to develop an academic plan
  • Use P.A.W.S. to register for classes
  • Learn the ropes from current students
  • Learn about campus facilities
  • Learn about campus support services and programs
  • Meet new classmates and get answers to their questions regarding life at EIU

Coming to college opens a new chapter in your student's life. The transition from high school to the university setting is an exciting time filled with a myriad of opportunities. This transition also raises a number of questions and concerns regarding their first year here at Eastern Illinois University. We promise their orientation day will provide them with more than just a class schedule; it will prepare and excite them for their first year at EIU!

 

We are pleased to announce that students will have the option of attending Orientation in-person, and we are excited to give you all the opportunity to visit our beautiful campus this summer! In order to protect the health and safety of our Panther community, students who attend in-person Orientation will be required to wear proper facemasks and will only be permitted to bring one guest. For those who would prefer not to attend in person, we will also be offering many virtual Orientation programs!

  • Wednesday, June 2, 2021 (In person)
  • Thursday, June 3, 2021 (In person)
  • Monday, June 7, 2021 (In person)
  • Tuesday, June 8, 2021 (Virtual)
  • Wednesday, June 9, 2021 (In person)
  • Thursday, June 10, 2021 (Virtual)
  • Monday, June 14, 2021 (In person)
  • Tuesday, June 15, 2021 (In person)
  • Wednesday, June 16, 2021 (Virtual)
  • Thursday, June 17 2021 (Gateway Admits Only; In person)
  • Monday, June 21, 2021 (Virtual)
  • Tuesday, June 22, 2021 (Virtual)
  • Wednesday, July 7, 2021 (In person)
  • Thursday, July 8, 2021 (In person)
  • Monday, July 12, 2021 (Gateway Admits Only; Virtual)
  • Tuesday, July 13, 2021 (In person)
  • Wednesday, July 14, 2021  (Virtual)
  • Monday, July 19, 2021 (Gateway Admits Only; In person)
  • Tuesday, July 20, 2021 (In person)
  • Wednesday, July 21, 2021 (In person)
  • Thursday, August 19, 2021

 

Part 2: Transition to Campus Program

This transition program will aid your student in settling into life on campus. The program starts the weekend prior to each semester and continues through the first six weeks of the semester. This is a fantastic opportunity for them to get involved and learn about many of the programs EIU has to offer! Clichere for additional information about the program.

Related Pages

Contact Information

New Student & Family Programs

Monday-Friday: 8:00am-4:30pm
600 Lincoln Ave
Charleston, IL 61920
(217) 581-6435
nsfp@eiu.edu


Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit