Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

EIU Chemistry and BiochemistryAlumni Home Page

Alumni Information Form

In Remembrance

Robert J. Smith (1916-2012)

Robert H. Karraker (1931-2008)

Sidney R. Steele (1917-2007)

Note: All files are in pdf format. Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded here

Alumni News

Harry Frost, BS '60, receives 2014 Distinguished Alumnus Award, pictured (front row left) on the Eastern Illinois University Distinguished Alumni homecoming parade float. 


Rich Keaton, B.S. '99,Ph.D. University Marylandwas chosen to receive an Outstanding Graduate Alumni Award in 2012.

Frost brothers

Dr. Jack Frost, BS '58, and Mr. Harry Frost,  BS '60, brothers who majored in Chemistry and Biochemistrywho were originally from Robinson, Illinois, returned to campus for a visit in June, 2012. Jack, at left below, spent 30 years with Halliburton in Duncan OK and after retirement continued as a consultant for United Laboratories. Harry, right, is the Corporate Director of Corn Quality-Technology Research for Cargill's Dry Corn Ingredients (DCI) product line in Paris, IL.



Dr. Frank Blum, BS '76, MS '77 in chemistry, has been chosen as a recipient of the 2012 EIU Outstanding Graduate Student Alumni Award. The awards ceremony was at EIU on April 13, 2012.

Dr. Ron Woods, class of '86 in chemistry, has been selected to receive a Distinguished Alumnus Award in fall 2011. Click here for a summary of Dr. Woods' life and achievements.

Fall 2011, four classmates from the class of '76 met for dinner at Dr. Jack Smardo's house in Denver, CO.

FA11 smardo

left to right: Sam Garbis (Strategic Account Manager for Waste Management), Jack Smardo (MD,internal medicine), John Benedik Jr. (Safety Officer at the University of Wyoming), Frank Blum (Chair of the chemistry department at Oklahoma State University), Richard Keiter (Emeritus professor, EIU) and Ellen Keiter (Emeritus professor, EIU)

Dr. Ronald W. Davis (BS ’64) has been selected to receive the 2011 Gruber Genetics Prize for his pioneering work in developing biotechnologies that have significantly advanced the fields of molecular genetics and genomics.  The prize, which consists of $500,000 along with a gold medal, will be presented in Montreal in October, 2011.  Dr. Davis received an EIU Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1984 and Honorary Doctoarate in 1995.

The emeritus faculty had lunch with professor Bob Smith on Nov. 3, 2010. Bob taught at EIU from 1955 to 1984 and was the pre-med adviser for many years. He is now 94 years old and lives in Sullivan, Ill.

alumni FA10

 left to right: Richard Keiter, David Ebdon, Ellen Keiter, Bob Jordan, Bob Smith, Maury Shepherd, Jerry Ellis, Dan Foote, and Roger Perkins (EIU Alumni Board Member)

Reunion of the Haques took place on March 27, 2010. They call themselves the "Haques" because one day in oragnic lab, Professor David Buchanan called them all "Hacks".  Next week they all showed up wearing "Haque" T-shirts.

Haques reunion 2010

left to right: Romane (Guyer) Lindley '79 (Ameren Corp), Rod Borger '77; '81 M.S. (Scientist, Anheuser-Busch, Inc.), Dean Dickerson '80 (Technical Services Manager and Co-owner of ARDL Inc), Pat (Stal)Markowski'79 (Regulatory Affairs Consultant Roche Diagnostics Corp).

Terry Rotsch, B.S. '68, M.S. '71; Ph.D., a graduate of Eastern’s Master of Science in chemistry program, has been chosen as one of 13 recipients of the EIU Outstanding Graduate Alumni Award in 2010.

Ryan Bailey, B.S.'99; Ph.D., received the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award in 2009.

Karl Hecker, Ph.D., received his M.S. degree from Eastern in 1986 and was named Global Ambassador by the graduate school in 2009.

A Tribute to the Uptmor Family of Teutopolis
Of the ten children in the Uptmor family of Teutopolis, IL, seven attended Eastern Illinois University and four obtained degrees in chemistry. Click here to read more.

Class Notes

2005 |2004 |2003 |2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 19961995 | 1993 | 1992 |1991 | 1989
1988 |1986 |1985 | 1984 | 1983 |1982 | 1981 | 1980 |1979 |1978 | 1977 | 1976 | 1975 | 1973 | 1972
1971|1970 | 1969 |1968 |1964 |1961 | 1958 1957 | 1939 |1934

Alumni contributions are welcome! Please send your contribution or suggestions to Richard Keiter, Ph.D., orZhiqing Yan, Ph.D.

Related Pages

Contact Information

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry Chair:
Dr. Edward M. Treadwell

600 Lincoln Avenue, Charleston IL 61920 Physical Science, Room 3150

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit