Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU School of Communication and Journalism


As a student in the School of Communication & Journalism, you likely qualify for many of the scholarships below. Search for these opportunities on the EIU Scholarship Search site to apply.  The deadline to apply is March 15.

Talented Student Award for Academic Excellence

The Division of Communication Studies provides a number of Talented Student Awards each year to students who show evidence of academic excellence. In order to be considered, students must have earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00, and be enrolled in a major in the Division of Communication Studies (Corporate Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Mass Communication, Health Communication, Communication in Organizations, Public Relations, Television & Video Production). PLEASE NOTE: If you have a full tuition waiver, you are not eligible to receive a Talented Student Award. (Graduate Assistants receive full tuition waivers and are not eligible to receive this type of award.) The application will be active on Academic Works from September 15 through November 30, 2022, and awards are made for the following spring semester after the applications are reviewed and recipients are chosen.


Benjamin Weir/Eugene Waffle Journalism Award   Jack L. Payan Scholarship    
Betty Lou Balasi Scholarship James A. Saunders Scholarship
Broadcast Journalism Scholarship Jim, Tom, and Robin Roberts Scholarship
Bruce Allen White Montgomery Scholarship John David Reed News-Editorial Journalism Scholarship
Carol A. Manhart Scholarship John E. and Mary J. Price Scholarship
Curtis D. MacDougall Scholarship Jon J. Hopkins Memorial Speech Education Scholarship
Daniel E. and M. Adrianne Thornburgh Scholarship Kenneth E. Hadwiger, Ph.D. Graduate Scholarship
Daniel E. Marvin WEIU Scholarship Kenneth E. Hadwiger, Ph.D. Scholarship
Dr. J. Glenn Ross Scholarship Mary (Wohlrabe) Durkin Journalism Scholarship
Dr. Janet L. Norberg Scholarship Pierre Toussaint Journalism Scholarship
Drs. Christine and Larry Helsel PR Scholarship Ralph Y. McGinnis Scholarship
E. Warner/D. Thornburgh Presidential Award Raymond L. and Carolyn M. Fischer Scholarship
Eric Schuster Scholarship Richard Icen Fourth Estate Award
Ethics and Integrity in Journalism Award Roy K. Wilson Journalism Scholarship
Frances W. McColl Scholarship-Journalism Samantha E. Middendorf Memorial Journalism Scholarship
Hal Middlesworth Scholarship Terry McCullough Memorial Community Press Scholarship
Illinois Broadcasters Association Scholarship Cal Smith Civic Engagement Annual Scholarship
Gene Seymour Memorial Sports Journalism Scholarship  

Related Pages

Contact Information

School of Communication and Journalism

Buzzard Hall 2521

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit