History of Stevenson Hall
Constructed in 1968 at over 2 million dollars, Stevenson Hall remains the tallest point in Coles County, still offering a unique atmosphere for residents. Originally known as the Stevenson Memorial Tower, after former governor of Illinois Adlai E. Stevenson II who also served as the ambassador to the United Nations from 1961-1965. In addition to his service as governor and ambassador Adlai E. Stevenson II also ran for the Presidency of the United States on two separate occasions in 1952 and 1956. Stevenson Hall was dedicated on February 18, 1969, with the namesake’s son, Adlai Stevenson III present at the ceremony.
Stevenson Hall remained an all-male residence hall until 1973 when the gentlemen of Stevenson Hall successfully argued that the hall transform to a coeducational building. During the 1973 academic year, three floors of Stevenson Hall were designated as coed. This setup remained until 1976 when four additional floors became coeducational, with the rest of the building following shortly after, making Stevenson Hall the only residence hall on campus to offer coeducational floor communities.
In addition to a tenth floor and study area, kitchenette, and conference room with a great view of the campus
and beyond. The building is unique for a number of other reasons. Stevenson Hall is the only residence hall offering suite style accommodations for residents. Holding up to 360 individuals, suites include four and six person designs that are a favorite for many students wanting to live with more than one or two of their closest friends. While suites remain comprised of residents of the same sex, the coeducational floors remain a draw for many. Suite set-ups offer a shared bathroom and living area that allow residents to enjoy a different feel from the traditional communities in other halls on campus. Stevenson Hall also requires that residents obtain upper-class status or be at least twenty one years of age.