Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Department of Philosophy

Phi Sigma Tau

Phi Sigma Tau was founded at Muhlenberg College in 1930 as Alpha Kappa Alpha, with chapters at colleges in Maryland and Pennsylvania. It remained in this regional status until October 1955 when it was incorporated as Phi Sigma Tau, a National Honor Society in philosophy. Today it has more than 100 chapters in accredited colleges and universities throughout the United States.

The aims of the society are to honor academic excellence and philosophical concern, to encourage a professional spirit and friendship among those who have displayed marked ability in philosophy, and to popularize interest in philosophy among the general collegiate public. These aims are expressed in the Greek motto, philounton sophian time, which means "the honor of those who love wisdom." The motto serves to remind us that the quest for truth is not the province of a single culture or time or person, but that there is a unity among all those who seek knowledge.

Fordham's Chapter of Phi Sigma Tau was founded in 1991. Membership is by invitation, is based primarily on grade point average, and is limited to senior and junior philosophy majors and minors. Students are invited to membership in April and initiation occurs in May.

Related Pages

Contact Information

Philosophy Department

3542 Coleman Hall
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
(217) 581-3012

Chair: Jonelle DePetro

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit