Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Department of Philosophy

2018 Illinois Philosophical Association Conference 



November 2ndand 3rd, EIU’s Philosophy Department hosted the Illinois Philosophical Association Conference. During the two-day event, approximately thirty philosophy papers were presented including such titles as “What Should We Do About the Statues?” and “Socrates, the Silver Rule, and Special Obligations: A Moral Analysis of Long Distance Running.” Professors, graduate students, and undergraduates from universities in Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, New York, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, Arkansas, and Michigan participated.  Dr. Jennifer Lackey, Wayne and Elizabeth Jones Professor Philosophy at Northwestern, delivered the Keynote Address, “The Duty to Object,” at a Banquet held in the MLK Jr. Student Union Grand Ballroom.  Lukas Myers, Undergraduate Essay Award Winner from Millikin University, received a certificate and $100 for his essay "The Paradox of Epistemic Peership.” This year’s student runner-up author was Ashlee Burton, from Eastern Illinois University. Dr. Lackey and Dr. Mylan Engel of Northern Illinois University, presented a special session on Teaching Philosophy. Details on this event and others can be found on the IPA website:



 IPA Lackey Oberg

Related Pages

Contact Information

Philosophy Department

3542 Coleman Hall
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
(217) 581-3012

Chair: Jonelle DePetro

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit