Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...
Close

History

Close

Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU OIAE

2022 African American Heritage Month

image of calendar events

 

 

2022 African American Heritage Month Calendar w/ Event Contacts

 

- Friday January 28th

Africana Studies Program 

Black Lives Matter Speaker Series: Bias in Professionalism. 

Speaker: Sunshine Clemons, Founder Black Lives Matter Springfield at 1 pm

Doudna Black Box Theater

CONTACT: Dr. James Ochwa – Echel, jrochwaechel@eiu.edu

 

- Friday February 1st

AAHM Kick-Off

University Board 

CONTACT: Shawn Hammer dzhammers@eiu.edu (Graduate Assistant)

                    Destiny Dye dcdye@eiu.edu  (UB Coordinator)

 

- Tuesday Feb. 2nd

Black Student Union and Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. 
“Time Period Train” Through Black History at 6:00 pm in Andrew Hall Basement

CONTACT: Treylin Newkirk tjnewkirk@eiu.edu (BSU President)

                    Jerimiah Boyd – Johnson jaboydjohnson@eiu.edu (Alpha Phi Alpha, VP)

 

- Thursday Feb. 3rd

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Everyone Wants To Be Black… (Cultural Appropriation) at 6:20pm in Coleman Hall

CONTACT: Nia DeRamus nsderamus@eiu.edu (President)

 

 

- Friday Feb. 4th

Pride
Movie Night: The Same Difference at 7:00 pm in Coleman Auditorium

CONTACT: Ci Richardson crrichardson2@eiu.edu (President)

                    Dr. Yolanda V. Williams yvwilliams@eiu.edu (Co-Advisor)

 

- Monday, February 7th 

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Black Card Revoked at 6:13 pm in Coleman Hall 

CONTACT: Imani Walker ikwalker@eiu.edu (President)

                     Dr. Mona Davenport mydavenport@eiu.edu (Advisor)

 

- Tuesday, February 8th 

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
Food for the Soul at 5:22pm in Cultural Center

CONTACT: Alanna Weems ajweems@eiu.edu (President)

                    Tashajay Silmon tlsilmon@eiu.edu (Member)

 

-Febrauary 10th

LASO
What is Afro-Latinidad? at 6 pm in Charleston/ Mattoon Room 

CONTACT: Kyara Morales-Rodriguez knmoralesrodriguez@eiu.edu (President)

 

- Tuesday Feb. 15th

Strong S.H.E.
Black Women and Reality TV...Is it FOR THE CLUTURE! at 6pm in University Ballroom

CONTACT: Hannah Moore hrmoore@eiu.edu (Chair)

                    Arteja L Benson-Conner albensonconner@eiu.edu  (Secretary)

- Wednesday Feb. 16th

NPHC
Black History Trivia Night at 7:00 pm in Martinsville Rm 

CONTACT: Imani Walker ikwalker@eiu.edu (President)

 

-Thursday, February 17th 

Department of Public Health and Nutrition
Soul Food: Nourishment for the Culture from 5 - 6:30pm in Klehm Hall Rm 2309 

CONTACT: Dr. Melanie Burns mdburns@eiu.edu (Professor)

 

 

 

- Friday, February 18th 

NAACP
2022 NAACP Image Awards at 7pm in Grand Ballroom 

CONTACT: Aaliyah James ajjames@eiu.edu (President)

 

-Sunday, February 20th in the Doudna Fine Arts Center:

Register here: Black Men in White Coats Viewing Party (eiu.edu) 

1:30p-2:00p Pre-screening Pizza and drinks in the Black Box Theatre

2:00p-4:00p Film Screening and Open Discussion in the Dvorak Concert Hall

 

Individuals can also join via Zoom (https://eiu.zoom.us/j/93385715765).

 

- Monday Feb. 21st

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.
Movie Night: Selma at 6:20 pm in Physical Science Bldg. (Phipps Lecture Hall) 

CONTACT: Nia DeRamus nsderamus@eiu.edu (President)

 

- Tuesday Feb. 22nd

NACWC

African American Leadership Awards at 6:30 pm in University Ballroom

CONTACT: Essance McCain ekmccain@eiu.edu (President)

 

- Wednesday Feb. 23rd

Alpha Psi Lambda Fraternity, Inc.
Afro-Latinos Trivia Night at 7:00 pm in Martinsville Rm 

CONTACT:  Alexandra Tinajero Alvarez atinajero@eiu.edu (President)

 

- Thursday, February 24th 

Voices in Progress: Untold Truth
ABC's of Black History at 6 pm in Coleman Auditorium 

CONTACT: Charity Abner csabner@eiu.edu (President)

 

- Saturday February 26th:

50th Annual Ms. Black EIU Pageant, Grand Ballroom, 7 pm

CONTACT: Dr. Yolanda V. Williams (yvwilliams@eiu.edu) (Pageant Coordinator)

                    Shariah U. Campbell (sucampbell@eiu.edu) (Pageant Coordinator)

 

- Monday Feb. 28th

Minority Teacher Education Association (MTEA)
MTEA Panel Series: Hearing from Our Past to Motivate Our Future! (EIU Alumni Educators) at 6:00 pm on  Zoom:   https://eiu.zoom.us/j/96225252130

CONTACT: Kimberly McWherter knmcwherter@eiu.edu (Presid

Related Pages

Contact Information

Mona Y. Davenport, Ph.D.
Executive Director

1122 - Blair Hall
217-581-6690
mydavenport@eiu.edu


Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit