Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

EIU Hosts Annual Maurice Shepherd High School Chemistry Contest


More than 80 students from 10 area high schools participated in Eastern Illinois University’s 38th annual Maurice Shepherd High School Chemistry Contest.

Students participated in a 60-minute written examination (50 questions), followed by a dinner break and talk on "Chemistry:  Past, Present and Future Perspectives” by Radu Semeniuc of Eastern’s chemistry department.  The top four teams and the top 10 individuals were then recognized and awards presented.  A traveling trophy was presented to the first-place team, and plaques were awarded to the top students.

The four schools having the highest team averages were:

  • First Place:  Sullivan – Adam Davis, Travis Hanson, Patrick Hogan (alternate), Sean Johnson (alternate), Reagan Miller, Noah Workman (alternate) and Ted Walk (teacher);
  • Second Place:  Neoga – Jacob Alumbaugh, Natalie Burrell, Courtney Croy (alternate), Ryan Evans (alternate), Joseph Goldstein, Kaleb Henderson (alternate), Adam Morgan (alternate), Cassidy Strohl (alternate) and Leanne Craig (teacher);
  • Third Place:  Morrisonville – Scott Baird (alternate), Jessie Borgic (alternate), Leyton Brown, Clayton Cina, Priscilla Griffin (alternate), Jenna Holliday (alternate), Liz Jones (alternate), Hannah Lupton, Morgan Riggs (alternate), Hailey Samson (alternate), Alyssa Westcott (alternate) and Janet Walch (teacher); and
  • Fourth Place:  Mahomet-Seymour – Thomas Bane, Ian Belyea (alternate), Aly Brunner, Reid Bundy (alternate), Connor Dietrich (alternate), Hannah Douglas, A.J. Ellis, Kevin Kauffman, Jim McCue (alternate), Maddie See, Lane Shafer, Jacob Singleton, Michael Webb, William Wolf and Terry Koker, Janet Wattnem and Lori Clark (teachers).

This is the second consecutive year in which a team from Sullivan has captured first place.

The 12 highest-ranking individual students, in order, were Michael Webb (Mahomet-Seymour), first; Adam Davis (Sullivan), second; Joseph Goldstein (Neoga), third; Clayton Cina (Morrisonville), fourth; Travis Hanson (Sullivan), fifth; Kevin Kauffman (Mahomet-Seymour) and Patrick Hogan (Sullivan), tied for sixth; Sean Johnson and Reagan Miller (both of Sullivan), tied for seventh; Ryan Evans (Neoga), eighth; Hannah Holmes (Lawrenceville), ninth; and Thomas Bane (Mahomet-Seymour), tenth.

The contest's official website, which includes pictures and information, can be found here.




Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit