Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

EIU Alumni Awards to be Presented During Homecoming


Recipients of the Eastern Illinois University Alumni Association’s 2012 alumni awards will be honored Saturday, Oct. 13, in conjunction with Homecoming activities.

Distinguished Alumni Awards will go to Jack Dadam of Lafayette, Calif.; Christopher Desmond of Glen Ellyn; Jaime Martinez of Naperville; William McNulty of Alexandria, Va.; Jill Nilsen of Charleston; Julie Nimmons of Litchfield; and Kevin Seitzer of Overland Park, Kan.

The Outstanding Young Alumnus Award recipient is Richard Keaton of Pearland, Texas. The Louis V. Hencken Alumni Service Award honoree is Carl Mito of Arlington Heights. The Distinguished Educator Award will be presented to Tim McCollum of Charleston.

For biographies of current and past award winners, please see the Alumni Association website.

Established in 1973, the Distinguished Alumni Award is the most prestigious award bestowed by the Alumni Association. It is presented to individuals who have distinguished themselves in either academic or literary fields, business, public service and/or service to the university, and who, through their accomplishments and service, have brought prestige to their alma mater. Past recipients have included an Illinois governor, Oscar-nominated actors, an NFL head coach, a nuclear physicist, CEOs, educators at all levels and many others.

First presented in 1988, the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award is presented to alumni who are 35 or younger and have excelled in new careers and/or public service.

The Louis V. Hencken Alumni Service Award, established in 1988, is presented to alumni who have repeatedly displayed outstanding voluntary service to the university. In 2007, the name was changed to the Louis V. Hencken Alumni Service Award in honor of Eastern's retiring president, who held a variety of administrative positions at EIU for more than 40 years.

Established in 2004, the Distinguished Educator Award is presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves in the field of K-12 education.



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit