Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

EIU Foundation Announces Recipients of Outstanding Philanthropist Award


Since its inception in 1953, the Eastern Illinois University Foundation has been dependent upon the generosity of its members and volunteers to fulfill its mission of support to the university.

And, since 1993, the foundation has formally presented the Outstanding Philanthropist Award. In 1997, this award was renamed the Burnham and Nancy Neal Philanthropy Award in appreciation of the Neals' leadership, support and dedication to Eastern and the foundation.

The award is given to individuals and organizations who have demonstrated a sincere dedication and commitment to the financial, academic and cultural well-being of EIU. The critical support and sustaining financial commitments provided by these distinguished philanthropists are essential to the future of the university and the students it serves.

Helen Krehbiel-Reed, left, and Janet Fraembs

Helen Krehbiel-Reed of Charleston and Joan B. Stough of Houston, Texas, have been named the EIU Foundation's Outstanding Philanthropists of the Year for 2011. The two were recognized during the foundation's Legacy Celebration.

Helen Krehbiel-Reed retired in 1998 as an associate professor of music education at Eastern, where she taught courses in the fundamentals of music and elementary music methods for elementary education majors.

While at Eastern, she was also the coordinator for music student teachers, coordinator for the music education area of the Department of Music, and adviser for the EIU chapter of Illinois Collegiate Music Educators.

Krehbiel-Reed began her higher education career at EIU in 1988. Previously, she taught in the public schools of Illinois and Kansas. As a music specialist, she worked in both K-6 and K-12 settings for a total of 11 years. When district budget cuts included the entire elementary music program, Krehbiel-Reed became a classroom teacher, first in first grade, then in third grade. Music is still a focus of her life, as she is active in playing church music and piano duets for groups in the area. She also enjoys volunteering and working with several local charities.

In 1985, Krehbiel-Reed established the Eugene B. Krehbiel Scholarship for students who are enrolled in either the Pre-Medical Studies Program or the Biological Sciences-Animal Studies Program with the intent of pursuing graduate-level studies. In 2003, she established the Helen J. Krehbiel Music Education Scholarship for students enrolled in the Music Education Program with the intent of pursuing a career in music education.

In 2005, she received the Graduate School Alumni Award. She is an active supporter of the Eastern Symphony Orchestra and the Tarble Arts Center.

She and her husband, John, have six children: Sharon Staley, Cathie Reynolds, Rick Reed, Tim Krehbiel, Rod Krehbiel and Jeff Krehbiel.

Joan B. Stough, a good friend of the university, is a geologist/paleontologist who has contributed much to the field of science. Stough dedicated her 2011 Outstanding Philanthropist Award in memory of her longtime friend, Marion Webb.

In 2009, Stough established the Marion Railsback Webb Foreign Language Scholarship. Webb had long ties to EIU, starting with her father, Ora Railsback, who came to EIU in 1924 and was its first physics teacher. Webb graduated from Eastern Illinois State Teachers College with a bachelor’s degree in education. She received her master’s degree in Spanish from the University of Colorado and her Ph.D. in Spanish from Ohio State University.

Webb dedicated 40 years of her life to teaching and education. For the last 23 years of her career, she taught at Houston Baptist University, from which she retired as a Distinguished Professor in Spanish. Webb has received many honors, including studies at the National University of Chile as a Fulbright Scholar, the Yale University Award for Outstanding Secondary Teaching, the Piper Award for Outstanding College Teaching in Texas, the Award for Outstanding College Teaching and Leadership from the Sears Foundation, Texas Foreign Language Association Spanish Teacher of the Year, and Outstanding Teaching Awards and Faculty Woman of the Year from Houston Baptist University.

Webb co-authored many publications for practical applications, including “Communicating in Spanish for Medical Personnel.” Throughout her career, in addition to teaching a language, she taught her students appreciation for the culture. In all of her endeavors, she followed her father’s example by providing practical help in the service of others.

Accepting the award in memory of Marion Webb was her sister, Janet Fraembs of Charleston.



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit