Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

Nineteen Faculty Members Awarded Tenure


Nineteen Eastern Illinois University faculty members have been awarded tenure, effective with the 2012-13 academic year.

The EIU Board of Trustees approved the list Friday.

Tenure, awarded in an academic department, connotes a relationship of continuing commitment between the university and a faculty member.

Generally, in order to qualify for tenure consideration, a faculty member must complete a probationary period and demonstrate progressive achievement and effectiveness in three areas of evaluation: teaching/performance of primary duties, research/creative activities, and service. Among these three areas, teaching/performance of primary duties is given the most consideration.

This year's recipients of tenure are as follows:

  • Wesley D. Allan, psychology;
  • Lola A. Burnham, journalism;
  • Ahmed S. Abou-Zaid, economics;
  • David J. Boggs, business;
  • Barbara S. Carlsward, biological sciences;
  • Irene S. Coromina, foreign languages;
  • Carrie Dale, early childhood, elementary and middle level education;
  • M. Eugenia Deerman, sociology and anthropology;
  • Christiane K. Eydt-Beebe, foreign languages;
  • Jill Fahy, communication disorders and sciences;
  • Luminita Florea, music;
  • Mark S. Kattenbraker, kinesiology and sports studies;
  • Eunseong Kim, journalism;
  • Jeannie Ludlow, English;
  • David Wayne Melton, technology;
  • Kamlesh Parwani, mathematics and computer science;
  • Gopal R. Periyannan, chemistry;
  • Luke Joseph Steinke, technology; and
  • Larry R. White, business.



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit