Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

EIU Faculty, Staff Recognized for Grant-Seeking Successes


Eastern Illinois University’s Graduate School and Office of Research and Sponsored Programs recently honored dozens of individuals, including those responsible for bringing in $8 million-plus in external funding.

ORSP, which helps EIU faculty and staff with applications, negotiations and procurement of grant funding, co-sponsored a recognition reception, which recognized individuals from many different disciplines within the university. Although the projects differed widely in scope, all were consistent with the mission and role of the university, and included research, creative activity, acquisition of equipment, construction and improvement of facilities, and public service.

Michael Strader, director of the Peacemeal Senior Nutrition Program, received the Edwin L. May Award for his outstanding achievements in obtaining external funding. This award is given each year to a member of the university community who has demonstrated extraordinary success in securing external support for research, public service or creative activity.

Other honorees recognized for their efforts toward the acquisition of externally funded grants are Peter Andrews, David Bell, Richard Berg, Jonathan Blitz, Douglas Bower, Doug Brandt, Ann Brownson, Robert Chesnut, Charles Costa, Sandra Cox, Daniel Crews, Jeffrey Cross, Steven Daniels, Jeanne Dau, Mona Davenport, Eric Davidson, Robert Fischer, Ann Fritz, Mary Herrington-Perry, David John, Johnson Kuma, Marylin Lisowski, Marina Marjanovic, Becky Markwell, Scott Meiners, Linda Moore, Linda Morford, Kathryn Morice, Stephen Mullin, Britto Nathan, Thomas Nelson, Nick Osborne, Thomas Over, Jayne Ozier, Charles Pederson, Rebecca Peebles, Gary Reed, Gail Richard, Denis Roche, Charles Rohn, Richard Rossi, Kathlene Shank, William Slough, Vanessa Sneed, Michael Strader, Rebecca Throneburg, Gordon Tucker, Nancy VanCleave, Andrew Wall and Michael Watts.

ORSP also administers state-appropriated funds that the university internally allocates for research and creative activity. Those recipients also were recognized during the grants recognition reception.

Among those honored were the recipients of the Graduate Dean’s Awards of Excellence – awards presented to the individuals who submit the most highly rated proposals for internal funding. The recipient of the award for best proposal in the 2005-2006 competition for Council on Faculty Research funding was Scott Meiners, assistant professor of biological sciences. Paul Switzer, associate professor of biological sciences, received the Graduate Dean’s Award for his 2005 Summer Research proposal.

Recipients of the 2005 Summer Research and Creative Activity Grants, supporting projects carried out during the summer of 2005, are Lilian Barria, Eric Bollinger, Ke-Hsin Jenny Chi, Ann Coddington, Daneen Deptula, Crystal Yan Lin, Peter Ping Liu, Zhiwei Liu, Marina Marjanovic, Rajit Mazumder, Christine McCormick, Francine McGregor, Stephen Mullin, David Raybin, David Radavich, Steven Roper, Nora Pat Small, Paul Switzer, Richard Wilkinson, Joseph Williams and Christopher Wixson.

Recipients of the 2005-2006 Council on Faculty Research Grants are Eric Bollinger, Gary Bulla, Julie Campbell, Janice Coons, Steven Daniel, Ann Fritz, Hui Li, Zhiwei Liu, Scott Meiners, Stephen Mullin, Jason Nelson, Charles Pederson, Scott Tremain, Mukti Upadhyay, Kraig Wheeler and Jie Zou. These grants supported projects conducted during the 2005-2006 academic year and, in many cases, included student participation.

Recipients of the 2006 Technology in Research and Scholarship Awards are Rebecca Cook, Peter Ping Liu, John Looby, Scott Meiners and Keith Wright. These awards are given annually to individuals who have made exemplary use of technology in research or creative activity.



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit