Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

Twenty-Seven Granted Tenure by EIU Board of Trustees


Twenty-seven Eastern Illinois University faculty members have been awarded tenure, effective with the 2006-2007 academic year.

Tenure is awarded in an academic department and connotes a relationship of continuing commitment between the university and a faculty member.

EIU's Board of Trustees confers tenure upon individuals, based on the recommendation of the university's president after a comprehensive evaluation process. Generally, in order to qualify for tenure consideration, a faculty member must complete a probationary period (usually six years), and demonstrate progressive achievement and effectiveness in three areas of evaluation: teaching/performance of primary duties, research/creative activities, and service. (Among these three areas, teaching/performance of primary duties is given the most consideration.)

This year's recipients of tenure are: Carlos C. Amaya, foreign languages; Dagni Bredesen, English; Gary Arthur Bulla, biological sciences; Ingyu Chiou, School of Business; Richard Foley, philosophy; Ann H. Fritz, biological sciences; Samuel A. Guccione, School of Technology; Darren Hendrickson, sociology and anthropology; Olaf Hoerschelmann, communication studies; Sherry J. Holladay, communication studies; Sara h L. Johnson, library services; Stephen J. Larson, School of Business; Daiva Markelis, English; Scott L. Meiners, biological sciences; William C. Minnis, School of Business; Lisa New Freeland, sociology and anthropology; James E. Painter, School of Family and Consumer Sciences; Richard Robert Rossi, music; Anupama Sharma, psychology; Sheila R. Simons, health studies; Jeffrey J. Snell, School of Business; Jeffrey R. Stowell, psychology; Jocelyn T. Tipton, library services; Angela Vietto, English; James A. Wallace, counseling and student development; and Edmund F. Wehrle, history.

Granting tenure at the time of hire is also provided for in Eastern's BOT regulations, and is based upon recommendations from the academic department, the dean, the provost and the president. Thus, trustees also granted tenure to Diane H. Jackman, who was appointed to the position of dean, College of Education and Professional Studies, effective July 1.



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit