Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

With Committee in Place, EIU Presidential Search Ready to Begin


The search for Eastern Illinois University 's 11th president officially got under way Friday as the institution's Board of Trustees heard and approved the composition of the search committee.

Formally known as the EIU Presidential Search Advisory Committee, the 17-member team will be responsible for conducting a national search that will culminate with the naming of approximately three to five finalists and bringing those individuals to the university for on-campus interviews. Trustees will have the ultimate responsibility of naming a new president once interviews are completed and committee recommendations are reviewed.

Members of the EIU Presidential Search Advisory Committee are: Robert Webb (committee chair), Sara Amyx, Sean Anderson, Roger Beck, Steven Childers, Adam Due, Angela Griffin, Assege HaileMariam, Diane Hoadley, Roger Kratochvil, Cynthia Nichols, Jill Nilsen, Kathleen O'Rourke, David Radavich, Amanda Raz, Leo Welch and Susan Young.

The need for a search became public when Louis V. Hencken announced in August that he planned to retire in 2007. His current contract expires June 30, 2007; he advised trustees, however, that, if need be, he was willing to remain in office after that date and until a new president can assume the responsibility.

Hencken has been employed with the university for 41 years, the last six as president.



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit