Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

EIU Faculty Members Receive Promotions, Other Recognition


Nearly 70 Eastern Illinois University faculty members have received promotions or other forms of recognition for exemplary service, effective with the Fall 2007 semester.

Each individual has demonstrated achievement and effectiveness in three areas of evaluation: teaching/performance of primary duties, research/creative activities, and service. Among these three areas, teaching/performance of primary duties is given the most consideration.

In order to qualify for a promotion to professor, a faculty member must also have been awarded tenure and must have completed four academic years at the rank of associate professor.

Twelve faculty members have been promoted to professor. They are Joyce Bishop, mathematics and computer science; Gary Bulla, biological sciences; Lynne Curry, history; Alan Grant, economics; Sherry Holladay, communication studies; Christy Hooser, special education; Robin Murray, English; James Painter; family and consumer sciences; Jyoti Panjwani, English; Anita Shelton, history; Paul Switzer, biological sciences; and John Willems, business.

In order to qualify for a promotion to associate professor, an employee must have held the rank of assistant professor for a designated period of time.

Fourteen faculty members have been promoted to associate professor. They are Michael Cornebise, geology/geography; Christopher Hanlon, English; Thomas Hawkins, technology; Terri Johnson, journalism; Marshall Lassak, mathematics and computer sciences; Francine McGregor, English; Michelle Meadows, family and consumer sciences; Linda Morford, educational administration; Sean Peebles, chemistry; Kristin Routt, foreign languages; Stacey L. Ruholl, physical education; Brian Sowa, communication studies; Jocelyn Tipton, library services; and Edward Treadwell, chemistry.

In order to qualify for a professional advancement increase, a faculty member must have previously been awarded tenure and must have completed four academic years at the rank of professor.

Those awarded professional advancement increases are Terry Barnhart, history; W. Reed Benedict, sociology/anthropology; John Best, geology/geography; Douglas Brandt, physics; Craig Chesner, geology/geography; Jonelle Comerford, mathematics and computer science; Rebecca Cook, special education; Phyllis Croisant, physical education; Jerry Daniels, music; Charles Delman, mathematics and computer science; Jean Dilworth, family and consumer sciences; Norman Garrett, business; Michael Havey, psychology; Gloria Leitschuh, counseling and student development; Christine McCormick, psychology; David Radavich, English; Richard Palmer, business, Barbara Poole, political science; Bailey Young, history; and Anne Zahlan, English.

Performance-based increases are reserved for annually contracted faculty members who have received four consecutive "superior" evaluations. Recipients can qualify for a performance-based increase once every four years.

This year's recipients are Jack Ashmore, communication studies; Judith Briggs, student teaching; Tamatha Brooks, family and consumer sciences; Vicki Curts, English; Margaret Garrett, foreign languages; Karen Hart, family and consumer sciences; Kathryn Hussey, physical education; Ned Huston, English; Angela Jacobs, communication studies; Elizabeth Johnson-Miller, communication studies; Michael Kuo, English; Alex Martino, student teaching; Terence Mayhue, music; Joan McCausland, health studies; James Naylor, student teaching; J.L. Page, English; Darlene Riedemann, business; Susan Rippy, family and consumer sciences; Sonya Schuette, physical education; Brent Todd, biological sciences; Carl Weaver, mathematics and computer science; and Robert Zordani, English.

All recipients of promotion, professional advancement increases and performance-based increases receive merit-based salary increases.



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit