Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

EIU Hosts Annual Maurice D. Shepherd High School Chemistry Contest


Please Note: Photos of the top four winning teams and top individuals from the below-mentioned contest can be found at

Sixty-six students from 11 area high schools participated in Eastern Illinois University 's 32nd annual Maurice Shepherd High School Chemistry Contest.

Students participated in a 60-minute written examination (50 questions), followed by a dinner break and talk on "Atmospheric Chemistry and Spectroscopy" by Rebecca Peebles of Eastern's chemistry department. The top six teams and the top six individuals were then recognized and awards presented. A traveling trophy was presented to the first-place team, and plaques were awarded to the top students.

The six schools having the highest team averages were:

•  First Place: Morrisonville - Amber Badman, Stacy Forbes, Carrie Olsen, Lacey McKinney (alternate), Jeff Voorhees (alternate), Paige Wells (alternate) and Janet Walch (teacher);

•  Second Place: St. Teresa (Decatur) - Taylor Chamberlain, Ryan Easterling, Luke Hunt, Michaela Hill, Lauren Jurgens, Margeret Riley, Sean Robinson and Barbara Gottemoller (teacher);

•  Third Place: Mattoon - Jacque Crail, Marianne Dust, Kenzie Peterson, Cecilia Pryor, Kristen Stevens, Mark Whitson and James Sparks (teacher);

•  Fourth Place: Champaign Centennial - Lorraine Chow, Tanvi Khanna, Mary-Kate Krouse, Jack Lian, Andrew Martin, Aerris Newton, David Oh, Anthony Shin, Aaron Sul, Shilpa Topudurti, Jordan Branham (alternate), Evan Johnston (alternate), and Terry Koker and Matt Williams (teachers);

•  Fifth Place : Lawrenceville - Brianna Land, Graham Morris, Nanna Sander, Ashley Terry, Josh Walker and David Atkins (teacher);

•  Sixth Place : Robinson - Nick Branson, Melanie Lum, Brittany Marqua, Megan Pearsall, Joey Tirado-Grundvig and Laurie Vaughn (teacher).

The six highest-ranking individual students, in order, were: Stacy Forbes (Morrisonville), first; Evan Johnston (Champaign Centennial), second; Nanna Sander (Lawrenceville), third; Lorraine Chow (Champaign Centennial) and Ryan Easterling (St. Teresa), tied for fourth; Luke Hunt (St. Teresa), Carrie Olsen (Morrisonville) and Margaret Riley (St. Teresa), tied for fifth; and Michaela Hill (St. Teresa), sixth.



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit