Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

Russell to Lead Education Department at EIU


Joy Russell, a longtime Eastern Illinois University faculty member, has been named chair of the EIU Department of Early Childhood, Elementary and Middle Level Education.

Russell, who has been at EIU since 1985, will assume her new leadership role on July 1.

“Dr. Russell brings with her a wealth of experience at both the K-12 and higher-education levels,” said Diane H. Jackman, dean of the College of Education and Professional Studies. “Her previous experiences have prepared her well to assume the chair’s position in the department.”

Russell spent 11 years as a teacher in the public schools before taking an administrative position with the Eastern Illinois Area of Special Education. In 1993, she became director of staff development at the Regional Office of Education serving Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Moultrie and Shelby counties.

“I am excited to have this opportunity to continue working with individuals who are committed to providing students with high quality educational experiences,” Russell said.

The department serves more than 1,300 graduate and undergraduate majors.

“Our focus is our students and ensuring that not only do they become marketable in the work force but that as teachers they are able to make positive contributions in the lives of children and their families,” Russell said.

Russell earned her doctorate in educational leadership, administration and foundations from Indiana State University in 2006. She resides in Charleston and is active in many professional and community organizations.



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit