Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

EIU Hosts Annual Maurice Shepherd High School Chemistry Contest


More than 70 students from 11 area high schools participated in Eastern Illinois University’s 41st annual Maurice Shepherd High School Chemistry Contest.

Students participated in a 60-minute written examination (50 questions), followed by a dinner break and talk on "Organic Materials for Solar Energy Conversion,” presented by Hongshan He of Eastern’s chemistry department.  The top four teams and the top individuals were then recognized and awards presented.  A traveling trophy was presented to the first-place team, and plaques were awarded to the top students.

The four schools having the highest team averages were:

  • First Place:  Mahomet-Seymour – Jessica Berkman, Trevor Burgess, Joe Churm, Antonio Cosimini, Ben Dahl, Gabriel Fulk, Nicholas Morrow, Sanket Patel, Nathan Smith, Michal Strzebonski, Holt Campion (alternate), William Clodfelder (alternate) and Conrad Ebbecke (alternate); Jeremy Davis and Terry Koker (teachers).
  • Second Place:  Neoga – Kierstyn Albin, Lindsey Alumbaugh, Chloe Padgett, Emily Wasmuth, Victoria Alumbaugh (alternate), Jared Ballinger (alternate), Megan  Drummond (alternate), Ashley Dryden (alternate), Rachel Ewing (alternate), Makenzie Hill (alternate), Nikki Miah (alternate), Tristan Stumph (alternate) and Ellie Walk (alternate); Leanne Craig (teacher).
  • Third Place:  Sullivan – Luke DeLong, Spencer Johnson, Max Todd, Anne Hogan (alternate) and Grace Mauck (alternate); Nathan Becker (teacher).
  • Fourth Place:  Effingham – Reilley Durham, Francesca Galeotti, Terrence Hill, Lauren Jakubowski, Will O’Bryan, Jacob Sigg and Rachel Teeter; Norene Ault (teacher).

The highest-ranking individual students, in order, were Ben Dahl, Mahomet-Seymour (M/S), and Connor Dickey, MacArthur (tied for first); Joe Churm (second) and Antonio Cosimini (third), both from M/S; Conrad Ebbecke, M/S, and Drew Warner, Cumberland (tied for fourth); Michal Strzebonski (fifth), Sankat Patel (sixth) and Jessica Berkman (seventh), all from M/S; Nicholas Morrow, M/S, and Will O’Bryan, Effingham (tied for eighth); Luke Delong, Sullivan (ninth); Emily Wasmuth, Neoga (10th); Jacob Sigg, Effingham (11th); Kierstyn Albin, Neoga (12th); Ethan Macklin, Okaw Valley (13th); Jacob Holden, Lawrenceville, and Spencer Johnson, Sullivan (tied for 14th); William Clodfelder, M/S (15th); and Remington Neal, Charleston (16th).

The contest's official website, which includes photos, a copy of the 2016 test and additional information, can be found here



Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit