Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Media Relations

EIU Alumni Awards to be Presented During Homecoming


Recipients of the Eastern Illinois University Alumni Association’s 2014 alumni awards will be honored Saturday, Oct. 25, in conjunction with Homecoming activities.

Distinguished Alumni Awards will go to Suzanne Barchers (’67) of Stanford, California; Chuck Bell (’67, ’69) of Scottsdale, Arizona; Nancy Elwess (’76) of North Hero, Vermont; Michelle Hanlon (’93) of Acton, Massachusetts; and Mary Anne Hanner ('72, '74) of Oakland.

The Outstanding Young Alumnus Award recipient is Kristofer Howard (’00) of Libertyville.  The Louis V. Hencken Alumni Service Award honoree is Jerry Zachary (’61, ’88) of Champaign.  The Distinguished Educator Award will be presented to Eric Bright (’12) of Charleston.

“We are honored to be able to recognize such an extraordinary group of alumni for their accomplishments and the varied ways in which they represent their alma mater,” said Bob Martin, vice president for university advancement.  “Their successes reflect well on Eastern Illinois University and motivate current and future students to follow their own dreams.”

For biographies of current and past award winners, please see here.

Established in 1973, the Distinguished Alumni Award is the most prestigious award bestowed by the Alumni Association. It is presented to individuals who have distinguished themselves in either academic or literary fields, business, public service and/or service to the university, and who, through their accomplishments and service, have brought prestige to their alma mater. Past recipients have included an Illinois governor, Oscar-nominated actors, an NFL head coach, a nuclear physicist, CEOs, educators at all levels and many others.

First presented in 1988, the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award is presented to alumni who are 35 or younger and have excelled in new careers and/or public service.

The Louis V. Hencken Alumni Service Award, established in 1988, is presented to alumni who have repeatedly displayed outstanding voluntary service to the university. In 2007, the name was changed to the Louis V. Hencken Alumni Service Award in honor of Eastern's retiring president, who held a variety of administrative positions at EIU for more than 40 years.

Established in 2004, the Distinguished Educator Award is presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves in the field of K-12 education.




Related Pages

Contact Information

Media Relations
Josh Reinhart, Public Information Coordinator

2142 Old Main
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-8444

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit