Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Department of History

Phi Alpha Theta


This international history honor society encourages history writing through its journal, awards, and history conferences.

About Phi Alpha Theta

  • Established March 17, 1921, at the University of Arkansas
  • Charter Member of Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS)
  • 839 active chapters and 275,000 members
  • 12,500 member and over 1,000 library subscribers to The Historian (quarterly journal)
  • 2,500 subscribers to The News Letter (published three times annually)
  • 9,300 initiates (average annually)
  • 35 regional meetings nationwide each spring
  • Over 25 scholarships and prizes awarded annually (paper prizes, book awards, manuscript award, best chapter awards, student history journal awards, world history award, etc.)
  • Membership qualifications (undergraduate)
    • At least 3.1 minimum GPA in 12 or more credit hours of history
    • At least 3.0 minimum overall GPA
    • When class rank is available, should be in upper 35% of class
    • Not necessary to be history major
    • (Graduate students and faculty members have separate requirements)

About Epsilon Mu (Eastern Illinois University's chapter of Phi Alpha Theta)

  • Formed in 1957
  • Has sponsored Lower Illinois regional history conferences in 1993, 2002, and 2006
  • Has been well-represented by both undergraduate and graduate students reading papers every year since 1990. And Eastern's students have invariably earned recognition and cash/book awards at each conference. A 10-page or longer course research paper can be fairly easily shortened to make a 20-minute conference paper. Plan to submit one.
  • Has won "best student journal" for our student journal, Historia, in a nation-wide competition sponsored by Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honors society several times. Historia so far has proudly shared Phi Alpha Theta's Gerald D. Nash History Journal Prize in Division I (large departments): 1999, 2001, and 2002
  • Has won "Best Chapter" commendation, 1996
  • To join Epsilon Mu, future conferences, or journal activity, contact advisor Professor Brian Mann.

Phi Alpha Theta Initiates, 2015-2016

Colleen Filipek
Alexandra Klasinz
Samuel Mitchell
Emily Moreno
Amy Ramsland
John Sarvela
Corey Thiesse
Sean Van Buskirk
Jack White
Amanda Wojcik

Phi Alpha Theta Initiates, 2014-2015

Richard Borzi, Nathanael Clapp, Mary Ashley Dotson, Andrew Dougherty, Daniel Eppel, Caleb Gurujal, Laura Horvat, Kevin Lux, Clara Mattheessen, Zachery Morlock, Michael Olson, Hailey Perry, Heather Sitkie, Katie St. John, Cayla Wagner, Nicholas Waller, Derrick Zerrusen

Phi Alpha Theta Initiates, 2013-2014

Breeahnah Babers, John Bays, Michael Bradley, Rebecca Braundmeier, Brendon Charles, Taylor Coffman, Andrew Daily, Bethany Haywood, Megan Kessler, Kody Kidwell, Jay Lawler, Jr., Cate LiaBraaten, Emily McInerney, Jacob Meyerhoff, Joseph Mickelson, Ryan Repking, Michael Rosenbaum, Rachael Sapp, Jessica Schluter, Ethan Shimer, Quentin Spannagel, James Willaert

Phi Alpha Theta Initiates, 2012-2013
James Bishop, Molly Button, Paul Conlon, Rachael Follmer, Tiffany Hostettler, Mark Michaels, Emily Scarbrough, Christopher Schilling, Mark Stanford, Danielle Swindel, Stephanie Templin, Taylor Yangas

Related Pages

Contact Information

History Department

2744 Coleman Hall
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920

Nora Pat Small, Interim Chair

2526 Coleman Hall

Dr. Bonnie Laughlin-Schultz, Social Science Teaching Program Coordinator

2556 - Coleman Hall

Brian Mann, Undergraduate Advisor

3721 - Coleman Hall

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit

Give to EIU

Every gift made to Eastern Illinois University -- whether it's big or small -- makes a difference. EIU's generous donors are helping our students fulfill their dreams every day, and you can be part of that.

Learn more about how to make your contribution today!