Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Department of History

History Scholarships and Writing Awards

The History Department recognizes exemplary undergraduate and graduate student work with several awards. Some reward consistent high performance, others recognize distinction in research and writing or work on a topic or geographic region (see below). Deadlines vary, so please follow the directions that accompany a specific award, or contact Dr. Alonzo Ward, Awards Committee Chair, for clarification.

The awards listed below are not an exhaustive list of funding available here at EIU. This is just a list of 2022-2023 academic year award winners. As a student within the History Department, you are eligible for a number of scholarships awarded from outside the department. A few of these external awards are listed below, but most are not. 

History Department Scholarships


Undergraduate Scholarships

  • The Errett and Mazie Warner History Award (first awarded in 1977): For an outstanding junior or senior history major.
    • 2023 recipients: Nicholas Doty, Dayden Gardner, & Madalyn Stead
  • Robert and Julie Sterling History Education in Social Science Scholarship (established in 1999 by Robert & Julie Sterling. Dr. Sterling taught in EIU's history department for 43 years (1956-1998), specializing in Civil War History. Julie likewise has provided dedicated service to EIU, working as an academic advisor for many years): For a junior or senior history major with teacher licensure. Graduating seniors are not eligible.
    • 2023 recipients: Mary Hill, Caleb Kowalewski, & Mario Smith

  • The William B. Reid, Jr. History Education Scholarship (established in 2001 by the family of William B. Reid, Jr. in recognition of his dedication to education. Mr. Reid taught for 35 years and received his high school, undergraduate, and graduate education at EIU): for a junior or senior history major with teacher licensure.
    • 2023 recipients: Alexander Pearson & Brittney Williams-Poke

  • Lawrence and Emily Nichols Memorial Scholarship (established in memory of Lawrence Nichols, a member of the History Department's faculty from 1962 through 1994; first awarded in 2006): for a full-time EIU student exhibiting academic excellence with an interest in U.S. or Latin American history.
    • 2023 recipient: Anden Cartright

  • The Elisha H. and Estella Ziegler Baumgartner Scholarship (established in 1991 through the estate of Elisha H. Baumgartner): for an outstanding sophomore history major.
    • 2023 recipient: Isabella Guidry

  • Wolfgang and Barbara Schlauch European History Scholarship: awarded to an undergraduate senior or graduate student with an outstanding academic record and a concentration in modern European history
    • 2023 recipients: Audri Kauffman
  • The Ardath Fogelsanger History Scholarship (established in 1974 by Ms. Edna Honaker in memory of her daughter Ardath Fogelsanger): for an upper division history major who, through activities in class and outside of the classroom, demonstrates a love for and dedication to the study of history.
    • 2023 recipient: Audrey Hopper  

  • Jeanne and Donald Tingley Memorial Scholarship (established in 2006 by the friends and family of Dr. Donald Tingley, who served on the EIU History Department faculty from 1953 to 1985, and his wife, Jeanne): for a full-time history major in good standing. Preference is given to first generation incoming freshman and/or transfer students.
    • 2023 recipient: Kamee Lytle
  • The Rex Syndergaard Scholarship (in recognition of P. Rex Synderaard's service to the EIU History Department in which he taught from 1956-1980; first awarded in 1981): For an outstanding undergraduate or graduate student with an interest in teaching.
    • 2023 recipients: Phinehas Asiamah, John Bien, & Jillian Russell

  • Grieme Family Scholarships: Awarded to outstanding sophomore, junior, or senior history majors each year.
    • 2023 recipients: Jacob Blanchette & Brittney Williams-Poke

History Department Writing Awards


Undergraduate Writing Awards

  • The Alexander Hamilton Paper Award in American History (established in 1999 by Herb & Jane Lasky. Herb Lasky served the EIU History Department for nearly forty years (1966-2004), directed the EIU Honors program from its inception (1982-2004), and spearheaded the creation of EIU Honors College): for the best undergraduate paper on American history written for a course taught in EIU's history department.
    • 2023 recipient: Shane Smith for his paper "A Close Change in Illinois’ Trajectory"

Graduate Writing Awards

  • The Lavern M. Hamand Graduate Writing Award (Lavern Hamand taught in the EIU History Department from 1957 through 1982; first awarded in 1993): for the best paper by a graduate student in the Department of History enrolled in either the traditional or the historical administration program. (There are two competitions for this award - fall and spring.)
    • 2023 recipients: Phinehas Asiamah & Joshua Hughes

College & University Awards

  • Booth Library Award for Excellence in Student Research and Creativity (an award for which all University students qualify; administered through the Booth Library): The program encourages students to enhance their studies by utilizing the wealth of information available at Booth Library and other research venues. All entries are original works completed by Eastern students within the last 12 months. The award recipients are selected on the basis of excellence, creativity and the use of research resources. For more information, consult the rules on the Booth Library website. selected 
    • 2023 recipient: Dayden Gardner
  • Social Science Writing Awards (an award for which History undergraduates qualify: administered through the Dean's Office, College of Sciences): Regardless of major, students who write strong research papers in upper-division social sciences courses, including history, should consider submitting them for recognition and cash awards. Submissions are made directly to the chair of the History Department; selections are made by the Social Science Writing Awards Committee. 
    • 2023 1st Place: Madalyn Stead (for her paper, "Justice under Tyranny: How Enlightenment Language During the French Revolution Led to Emancipation and Rights for Freed and Enslaved People in French Territory")



Related Pages

Contact Information

History Department

2744 Coleman Hall
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920

Grant Sterling, Chair

3531 Coleman Hall

Brian Mann, Undergraduate Advisor

2566 - Coleman Hall

Lee Patterson, Graduate Coordinator

2572 - Coleman Hall

Bonnie Laughlin-Schultz
History with Teacher Licensure in Social Science Coordinator

2556 Coleman Hall

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit