Eastern Illinois University Logo
English MA |

Faculty

Home

Why Choose EIU

Four Concentrations

Apply Now

Graduate Coordinator

Faculty

Program Timeline

Courses

Funding

Writing Programs for Teachers

Information for Current Graduate Students

Alumni & Friends

English Department Website

Contact Us

FacebookYoutube
Olga Abella Professor of English
oabella@eiu.edu | 217-581-6297 | 3325 Coleman Hall | Profile

Creative writing (poetry), Renaissance and seventeenth-century literature, Milton.

John B. Allison Professor of English
jballison@eiu.edu | Email Preferred | 3552 Coleman Hall | Profile

Anglo-American literary studies, with emphasis on Nineteenth-century American literature.

Melissa Ames Assistant Professor of English and Director of English Education
mames@eiu.edu | 217-581-6299 | 3821 Coleman Hall | Profile

Cultural studies, media studies, popular culture, television scholarship, twentieth- and twenty-first-century American literature, pedagogy, postmodern and feminist theory.

Randall L. Beebe Professor of English
rlbeebe@eiu.edu | 3841 Coleman Hall | Profile

British romanticism, nineteenth-century British studies.

Donna J. Binns Associate Professor of English
djbinns@eiu.edu | 3851 Coleman Hall | Profile

English education, technical communication, composition and rhetoric, disability studies, and media studies.

Parley Ann Boswell Professor of English
paboswell@eiu.edu | 3566 Coleman Hall | Profile

American literature, film studies.

Dagni A. Bredesen Professor of English and Women's Studies, Director of Faculty Development
dabredesen@eiu.edu | 217-581-7051 | 1116 Booth Library | Profile

Nineteenth-century British studies, South African literature, post-colonial literature.

Rosemary A. Buck Professor of English
rabuck@eiu.edu | 217-581-5012 | 3040 Coleman Hall | Profile

Linguistics, Old English, gender and language.

Melissa M. Caldwell Assistant Professor of English
mcaldwell@eiu.edu | 217-581-7481 | 3050 Coleman Hall | Profile

Sixteenth- and seventeenth-century British studies, intellectual history, skepticism, religion and literature, and classical transmission

Julie D. Campbell Professor of English
jdcampbell@eiu.edu | 3572 Coleman Hall | Profile

Sixteenth- and seventeenth-century continental and British literature, early modern women's writing, and early modern transnational studies.

Tim Engles Professor of English
tdengles@eiu.edu | 217-581-2428 | 3831 Coleman Hall | Profile

Contemporary and multicultural American literature, graphic narratives, critical whiteness studies.

Terri A. Fredrick Associate Professor of English
tafredrick@eiu.edu | 3070 Coleman Hall | Profile

Professional writing, technical writing, service learning, composition pedagogy

Roxane Gay Assistant Professor of English
rgay@eiu.edu | 3331 Coleman Hall | Profile

Creative writing (fiction and nonfiction), technical and professional writing, new media.

Christopher Hanlon Professor of English
chanlon@eiu.edu | 3811 Coleman Hall | Profile

Nineteenth-century American literature, antebellum literature and culture, transatlanticism, southern literature, critical theory

Ruth Hoberman Professor of English & Director of Graduate Studies
rhoberman@eiu.edu | 217-581-6981 | 3755 Coleman Hall | Profile

Twentieth-century and contemporary British literature, museum and modernist studies, women’s studies.

Bonnie D. Irwin Dean, College of Arts & Humanities
bdirwin@eiu.edu | 217-581-2922 | 2216 Doudna Fine Arts Center | Profile

Medieval studies, oral tale traditions.

Lania D. Knight Assistant Professor of English
ldknight@eiu.edu | 3751 Coleman Hall | Profile

Current work is on a novel set several centuries in the future in the Midwest, a bleak time and place in which humans are cultivated like agricultural crops.

Fern Kory Professor of English
fkory@eiu.edu | 217-581-6291 | 3365 Coleman Hall | Profile

Modern American literature, including the Harlem Renaissance; children's and young adult literature; writing center theory and practice.

Michael Leddy Professor of English
mleddy@eiu.edu | 3741 Coleman Hall | Profile

Modern and postmodern American poetry and fiction.

Michael D. Loudon Professor of English
mdloudon@eiu.edu | (217) 581-2428 | 3361 Coleman Hall | Profile

South African writing and literature, and African writing and literature, generally; nineteenth- and twentieth-century American literature, African American literature, post-colonial and Native American literature.

Jeannie Ludlow Associate Professor of English and Coordinator of Women's Studies
jludlow@eiu.edu | 217-581-5947 | 3139 Coleman Hall | Profile
Daiva Markelis Professor of English
dmmarkelis@eiu.edu | 3375 Coleman Hall | Profile

Creative writing (nonfiction), ethnography, composition pedagogy, women's memoir.

Robert L. Martínez Assistant Professor of English
rlmartinez@eiu.edu | n/a | 3371 Coleman Hall | Profile

Twentieth- and twenty-first-century British literature, film studies, postcolonial literature, popular music and literature.

Francine P. McGregor Professor of English
fmcgregor@eiu.edu | 3355 Coleman Hall | Profile

Medieval studies, Chaucer, literary theory.

John David Moore Associate Professor of English
jdmoore@eiu.edu | 3771 Coleman Hall | Profile

Children’s literature, nineteenth-century British literature.

Robin L. Murray Professor of English and Women's Studies, Film Studies Minor Coordinator, and Eastern Illinois Writing Project Director
rlmurray@eiu.edu | 3351 Coleman Hall | Profile

Film studies, English education, multicultural American literature, eco-criticism, women’s studies, composition theory, nineteenth- and early twentieth-century American studies.

Jyoti Panjwani Professor of English
jpanjwani@eiu.edu | 3576 Coleman Hall | Profile

Post-colonial literature, theory, and feminism; Indian literature; Asian literary and cultural studies; translation studies.

Suzie A. Park Associate Professor of English
sapark@eiu.edu | 3030 Coleman Hall | Profile

British romanticism, eighteenth-century British literature, sentimental culture, information culture.

Charlotte Pence Assistant Professor
cpence@eiu.edu | 217-581-2428 | 3745 Coleman Hall | Profile

Creative Writing (poetry and nonfiction), Contemporary Poetics and Form, Creative Writing Pedagogy, Rhetoric and Composition, Song Poetics

Ruben Quesada Assistant Professor of English
rmquesada@eiu.edu | 217-581-2428 | 3562 Coleman Hall | Profile

Creative Activity: March 2013 – Present, Co-Founder, S&Q: A Traveling Reading Series; Winter 2013, Screener, AWP Donald Hall Prize for Poetry

David Raybin Professor of English
draybin@eiu.edu | 217-581-6980 | 3761 Coleman Hall | Profile

Chaucer, Middle English, Medieval French

Dana J. Ringuette Department Chair & Professor of English
dringuette@eiu.edu | 217-581-2428 | 3341 Coleman Hall | Profile

Nineteenth- and early twentieth-century American and British literature, literary theory and criticism, intellectual history and philosophy.

Timothy A. Shonk Associate Professor of English
tashonk@eiu.edu | 217-581-6310 | 3060 Coleman Hall | Profile

Medieval literature, medieval manuscripts and secular book production.

Jad Smith Associate Professor
jdsmith3@eiu.edu | 3605 Coleman Hall | Profile

Eighteenth-century British literature, science fiction, critical and cultural theory

Jamila D. Smith Assistant Professor of English
jdsmith9@eiu.edu | 3775 Coleman Hall | Profile

Black feminisms; Writing Children's and YA Literature, Culturally Relevant Youth Literature; Intersectionality in Oral and Written Narrative; African American youth and young adult literature; Adolescent, African American fem ...

Duangrudi Suksang Professor of English
dsuksang@eiu.edu | 3335 Coleman Hall | Profile

Victorian literature, utopian literature.

Stephen Swords Associate Professor of English
sswords@eiu.edu | 3020 Coleman Hall | Profile

Nineteenth- and twentieth-century American literature.

Tim N. Taylor Associate Professor of English & Director of Composition
tntaylor@eiu.edu | 217-581-6309 | 3785 Coleman Hall | Profile

His teaching and research interests span various fields within Rhetoric/Composition: basic writing, argumentation, writing program administration, composition theory and pedagogy, classical rhetoric, professional writing, wri ...

Angela Vietto Professor of English
arvietto@eiu.edu | (cell) 217-549-3203 | 3345 Coleman Hall | Profile

Eighteenth-century American literature, gender and authorship, book history.

C.C. Wharram Associate Professor of English
ccwharram@eiu.edu | 1343 Doudna Fine Arts Centre | Profile

Eighteenth- and nineteenth-century British and continental literatures, translation studies, literary theory, philosophy (especially Kant, Hegel, and object-oriented ontology).

Christopher M. Wixson Professor of English
cmwixson@eiu.edu | 3871 Coleman Hall | Profile

Modern and contemporary drama, Shakespeare and his contemporaries, modern British and American literature.

Marjorie G. Worthington Associate Professor of English
mgworthington@eiu.edu | 217-581-5214 | 3321 Coleman Hall | Profile

Twentieth- and twenty-first-century American literature, postmodernism, metafiction, women’s studies, feminist and narrative theory.


Faculty/Staff Login to Update Info