Eastern Illinois University Logo
Communication Studies MA |

Faculty and Staff

Home

About the Program

Apply Now

Concentrations

Graduation Requirements

Faculty

Funding

Why Choose EIU?

Student Research

After Graduation

Current Students

Undergraduate Studies

Contact Us

Matthew J. Gill, Ph.D. Associate Professor / Public Relations Coordinator
mjgill@eiu.edu | 217-581-6306 | 2070 Coleman Hall | Profile

Dr. Gill’s research interests include PR, organizational communication, and sport communication. Recently he has examined organizational history as a socializing agent and how communication damages trust in organizations.

Elizabeth Gill, Ph.D. Associate Professor
egill@eiu.edu | 217-581-2016 (messages) | 2060 Coleman Hall | Profile

Dr. Gill's research focuses on the negotiation of relationships and identities in interpersonal and health contexts. She is particularly interested in questions of uncertainty and the wellbeing of vulnerable populations.

David Gracon Ph.D. Associate Professor
dgracon@eiu.edu | 217-581-2016 (messages) | 1240 Coleman Hall | Profile

Dr. Gracon's interests include the political economy of communication, critical cultural studies, alternative media, media/music based subcultures, media literacy, documentary and experimental media production.

Marita Gronnvoll, Ph.D. Associate Professor
mgronnvoll@eiu.edu | 217-581-2016 (messages) | 1753 Coleman Hall | Profile

Dr. Gronnvoll’s background is in rhetorical theory and criticism. Her areas of specialization are gender and feminism, particularly as represented in media and visual texts.

Angela S. Jacobs, Ph.D. Associate Professor / Graduate Coordinator
asjacobs@eiu.edu | 217-581-2020 | 1741 Coleman Hall | Profile

Dr. Jacobs conducts research on interpersonal and family communication. She is particularly interested in examining storytelling and narrative construction of family identity in diverse contexts.

Claudia Janssen Danyi, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
cijanssen@eiu.edu | 217-581-2016 (messages) | 1410 Coleman Hall | Profile
Richard G. Jones, Jr., Ph.D. Associate Professor & Basic Course Director
rgjones@eiu.edu | 217-581-3324 | 1751 Coleman Hall | Profile

Richard G. Jones, Jr., Ph.D conducts research on how people communicate and perform intersecting identities in various contexts. He is also a scholar and teacher of communication pedagogy.

Stephen A. King, Ph.D. Chairperson / Professor
saking@eiu.edu | (217) 581-2016 | 1260 Coleman Hall | Profile

Dr. King's research agenda intersects rhetorical studies, intercultural communication and popular music. He has written about reggae music (social movement theory) and Mississippi's blues tourism industry (public memory).

Molly Niesen, PhD Assistant Professor
mcniesen@eiu.edu | 217-581-2016 (messages) | 1410 Coleman Hall | Profile
Teresa Maria Linda Scholz, Ph.D. Associate Professor
tscholz@eiu.edu | 217-581-2016 (messages) | 2030 Coleman Hall | Profile

Dr. Scholz’s academic background is in rhetorical theory and criticism, with areas of specialization in feminist and postcolonial theory, and Latin American and Latina/o Critical Communication Studies. Dr. Scholz is also a ...

Samantha Szczur, Ph.D. Associate Professor
sszczur@eiu.edu | 217-581-2016 (messages) | 2055 Coleman Hall | Profile

Dr. Szczur studies the cultural politics of work and workplace organizations. She aligns with Critical/Cultural studies and analyzes relationships of power and identity as they relate to processes of work.

Chigozirim I. Utah Assistant Professor
ciutah@eiu.edu | 2037 Coleman Hall | Profile
Scott M. Walus, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
smwalus@eiu.edu | 217-581-2016 (messages) | 1810 Coleman Hall | Profile

Scott Walus examines the producers/texts/audiences of media. He actively conducts research and produces recorded music, televisual content, and new media texts.


Faculty/Staff Login to Update Info