Skip to main content
Eastern Illinois University


Automatic Transfer Academic Excellence ScholarshipS

Academically talented students entering Eastern Illinois University will automatically be offered the Transfer Academic Excellence Scholarship at the time of application to the university.


This scholarship is automatically renewable for a total of 2 years (4 semesters). Eligible students are required to maintain full-time consecutive undergraduate enrollment in fall and spring semesters, and maintain specific GPA requirements noted below. Regularly admitted, new full-time transfers within all majors at EIU are eligible for this scholarship. International undergraduate students on current visas (F1, J1) are not eligible for freshman merit or transfer merit scholarships.

You must have at least 15 credit hours transferred from an accredited college or university. If you took only one semester at a community college or another university, you may qualify for the First-Year Merit Scholarships for four years instead of the two-year transfer scholarships.

Transcripts can be updated through the first day of classes to either qualify or go up a scholarship level. 

  Cumulative GPA Award
Tier One 3.5-4.0 $5,000* ($2,500 Annually)
Tier Two 3.0-3.49 $3,000* ($1,500 Annually)


*Renewable up to 4 consecutive fall and spring semesters if renewal criteria is met.

Renewal Criteria: Student must maintain the following cumulative GPA at Eastern Illinois University, with continuous full-time enrollment of 12+ hours.


Office of AdmissionsOffice of Financial Aid & ScholarshipsMyEIU Admissions PortalAcademic Works Scholarship Search