Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU National Residence Hall Honorary

Students sitting around table at induction


Our Mission

We are the top 1% of student leaders on campus who donate our time and funding to campus programming, community building, and service. Our goal is to cultivate leaders who wish to improve their personal and academic growth, as well as recognize exemplary students and faculty.

Our History 

NRHH was established in 1965 as a service organization for NACURH, and EIU’s chapter was established in 1974, with the first induction held on November 22, 1974. The chapter inducted 25 members that year. Today, EIU continues the tradition of having a strong and involved chapter of outstanding student leaders.

The EIU Chapter has a long and rich history. After being established the National NRHH files were housed on EIU’s campus from 1974 to 1975. Later the NRHH National Office was hosted on campus from 1981 to 1983. The prestigious Richard Enochs Scholarship was also developed in 1978-79. This scholarship is still awarded today to a student leader. NRHH, along with Housing and Dining, works to support residential student leaders through scholarships every year.

Another highlight for EIU was in 1981 the NRHH pin was designed by Mark Hudson & the late Valerie Averill. This pin is still given to every member inducted across the country into NRHH. In 1983, NRHH received voting rights from RHA. In the same year EIU won School of the Year.

NRHH was bid in 1994 for Chapter of the Year. They won Chapter of the Month twice during the 1995-1996 academic year. In 1995 EIU’s NRHH Chapter won GLACURH Chapter of the Year. They continued in 1996 by winning NACURH Chapter of the Year!

The EIU Chapter became the the The Louis V. Hencken Chapter of National Residence Hall Honorary in 2007 in honor of President Emeritus, Mr. Louis V. Hencken. Mr. Hencken started his EIU career in 1966 as an undergraduate student. He served as a RHA Adviser for many years, and continued to move through the Housing and Dining ranks until he became Director of Housing in 1975. Mr. Hencken then became Vice President of Student Affairs in 1992, and eventually took over as President of the University in 2001 until his retirement in 2007. Mr. Hencken is still active in the EIU community and Mr. Hencken is still active in the EIU community and tirelessly promotes student leadership.

Mr. Hencken is still active in the EIU community and tirelessly promotes student leadership.

Related Pages

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit

Give to EIU

Every gift made to Eastern Illinois University -- whether it's big or small -- makes a difference. EIU's generous donors are helping our students fulfill their dreams every day, and you can be part of that.

Learn more about how to make your contribution today!