Eastern Illinois University Logo
Theatre Arts |

Home

Message from the Chair

50th Anniversary Celebration

Production Season

Accreditation (NAST)

About the Program

Apply Now

Course Listing

Faculty and Staff

Guest Artists

Major Requirements

Involvement Opportunities

Scholarships

Scholarship Forms

Why Choose EIU

Links to Resources

Memory Lane Photo Archive

Newsletter

Videos

Contact Us

Facebook

To purchase tickets or learn more about upcoming events, call 217-581-3110, email doudnatix@eiu.edu, or visit www.eiu.edu/doudna.

 

2014-2015 Season Schedule



LONELY PLANET

A play by Steven Dietz
Directed by J. Kevin Doolen
Guest Lighting Designer Andi Lyons
Guest Fight Choreographer Greg Poljacik

Wednesday, September 10 • 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 11 • 7:30 p.m.
Friday, September 12 • 7:30 p.m. (post show discussion)
Saturday, September 13 • 7:30 p.m. (50th Alumni Event performance)
Sunday, September 14 • 2 p.m.
The Theatre, $12 / $10 / $5

The celebration of friendship during the age of AIDS. Themes o friendship, fear, tolerance and compassion resonate throughout this poignant, often funny, play.

“Friendship, not technology, is the only thing capable of showin us the enormity of the world.” - Dietz

“We are, each of us, a living testament to our friends’ compassion and tolerance, humor and wisdom, patience and grit.” - Dietz

Production made possible through partial funding from the John
K. Hightower Memorial Fund.

Produced by special arrangement with Dramatist Play Service, Inc.

 


 

CARNIVAL

Produced in conjunction with the Department of Music
Directed by Jean Wolski / Musical Direction by Tim Renner

Music and Lyrics by Bob Merrill
Book by Michael Stewart
Based on Material by Helen Deutsch
Original Production directed and choreographed by Gower Champion
Produced for the Broadway Stage by David Merrick

Wednesday November 12 • 7:30 p.m.
Thursday November 13 • 7:30 p.m.
Friday November 14 • 7:30 p.m.
Saturday November 15 • 7:30 p.m.
Sunday November 16 • 2 p.m.
The Theatre, $12 / $10 / $5

A naïve, orphaned girl is taken in as an apprentice to a traveling French circus and develops an astonishing ability to relate to the puppets designed and performed by an embittered, crippled man who loves her. The show received acclaim for its 'magic', 'simplicity' and 'compassion' when it opened on Broadway, and continues to grace stages and bring smiles to audiences worldwide.

Carnival is produced by arrangement with Tams-Witmark Music
Library, Inc.

 


 

Marnie Andrews 
Fools and Crazy People: Notes on an adventurous life

Thursday, January 29 - 6:00 pm
Lecture Hall


 

THE MOUSETRAP

Agatha Christie
Guest Director Marnie Andrews

Thursday, March 5 • 7:30 p.m.
Friday, March 6 • 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 7 • 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 8 • 2 p.m.
The Theatre, $12 / $10 / $5

The world's longest running play, now celebrating its Diamond Anniversary in its 60th year. A group of strangers is stranded in a boarding house during a snowstorm, one of whom is a murderer. To get to the rationale of the murderer's pattern, the policeman probes the background of everyone present, and rattles a lot of skeletons. Another famous Agatha Christie switch finish! Chalk up another superb intrigue for the foremost mystery writer of her time.

The Mousetrap is presented by special arrangements with SAMUEL FRENCH, INC.

 


 

GOOD PERSON OF SETZUAN

by Bertolt Brecht, translated by Tony Kushner
Directed by Zack Ross

Thursday, April 23 • 7:30 p.m.
Friday, April 24 • 7:30 p.m. (post show discussion)
Saturday, April 25 • 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 26 • 2 p.m.
The Black Box, $12 / $10 / $5

A piquant, unexpectedly charming account of Bertolt Brecht’s 1943 problem play about goodness in a world of limited resources.

Good Person of Setzuan is presented by special arrangement
with SAMUEL FRENCH, INC.

 



10 MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL

Student Directed
Saturday, May 2 • 2 p.m.
Globe Studio (originally the Movement Studio), FREE