Eastern Illinois University Logo
History |



About the Program

Come Visit Us

Why Choose EIU

Apply Now


Scholarships & Awards


Student Activities

Career Advice for History Majors

Research Resources

Departmental News

History Graduate Programs

History with Teacher Licensure

Undergraduate Advisors

Contact Us


faculty may 14(at table from left to right): Sace Elder, Bonnie Laughlin-Schultz, Anita Shelton, Jinhee Lee, Martin Hardeman, Charlie Foy, (standing from left to right): Michael Shirley, Bailey Young, David Smith, Brian Mann, Roger Beck, Lynne Curry, Newton Key, Malgorzata Rymsza-Pawlowska, Edmund Wehrle, Nora Pat Small, Mark Hubbard, Debra Reid, Lee Patterson, Terry Barnhart, Joy Kammerling, (not pictured): Jose Deustua

Ralph W. Ashby
Ralph W. Ashby Instructor
rwashby@eiu.edu | -- | Profile

French Revolution, Napoleon, Military, World

Terry A. Barnhart
Terry A. Barnhart Professor, Historical Administration
tabarnhart@eiu.edu | 217-581-6380 | 2566 Coleman Hall | Profile

U.S. social and cultural, local, museum studies, historical intepretation

Roger B. Beck
Roger B. Beck Distinguished Professor
rbbeck@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 2562 Coleman Hall | Profile

Africa, South Africa, World, 20th-century World, Great War, Missionaries

Lynne E. Curry
Lynne E. Curry Professor
lecurry@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 2532 Coleman Hall | Profile

U.S. legal and constitutional history, 20th century U.S., history of medicine and public health, history of childhood

Sace E. Elder
Sace E. Elder Professor, Graduate Coordinator
seelder@eiu.edu | 217-581-6372 | 2542 Coleman Hall | Profile

Modern Germany and 19th and 20th Century European social and cultural, especially gender, history of childhood, history of legal cultures, history of crime and policing

Charles R. Foy
Charles R. Foy Associate Professor
crfoy@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 3765 Coleman Hall | Profile

Early American History, Atlantic History, African-American History, Slavery in the Americas, Maritime History

Martin J. Hardeman
Martin J. Hardeman Associate Professor
mjhardeman@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 3522 Coleman Hall | Profile

19th-century U.S., African American, Civil War and Reconstruction, U.S. South

Mark Hubbard
Mark Hubbard Professor
mvosshubbard@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 2536 Coleman Hall | Profile

U.S. political and social, political thought, Jacksonian America, Civil War

Joy M. Kammerling
Joy M. Kammerling Associate Professor
jmkammerling@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 2522 Coleman Hall | Profile

Renaissance and Reformation, early modern Europe

Bonnie Laughlin-Schultz
Bonnie Laughlin-Schultz Assistant Professor, Social Science Teaching Program Coordinator
blaughlinschul@eiu.edu | 217-581-6362 | 2556 Coleman Hall | Profile

19th-century U.S., women's/gender history, antebellum reform, women's rights, Civil War memory, history education & social science teacher certification

Jinhee  J. Lee
Jinhee J. Lee Associate Professor of History, Coordinator of Asian Studies
jlee@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 3755 Coleman Hall | Profile

East Asia, Japan, Korea, China, empires, collective violence, imperialism, colonialism, postcolonialism, children's history

Brian Mann
Brian Mann Assistant Professor
bmann@eiu.edu | 3721 Coleman Hall | Profile

Modern Middle East, 19th- & 20th-century Iran, Khuzistan, nationalism, ethnic minorities, imperialism, labor

Patricia Miller
Patricia Miller Instructor
plm@illinoisheritage.org | Profile

Historic preservation, museum administration

Lee E. Patterson
Lee E. Patterson Associate Professor, History
lepatterson2@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 3781 Coleman Hall | Profile

Ancient Greece, Rome, and Near East; Roman Armenia; Parthian and Sasanian history; political uses of Greek myth; constructed identities

Debra A. Reid
Debra A. Reid Professor
dareid@eiu.edu | 2572 Coleman Hall | Profile

Rural studies, African American history, material culture, public history/museum studies

Malgorzata J. Rymsza-Pawlowska
Malgorzata J. Rymsza-Pawlowska Assistant Professor
mrymszapawlows@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 3761 Coleman Hall | Profile

19th and 20th c. U.S. social and cultural, museums, memory, digital humanities, media and cultural studies

Anita K. Shelton
Anita K. Shelton Professor, Department Chair
ashelton@eiu.edu | 217-581-6989 | 2546 Coleman Hall | Profile

East Europe, Russia, modern Europe

Michael Shirley
Michael Shirley Assistant Professor, History and History with Social Science Certification Undergraduate Advisor
mshirley@eiu.edu | 217-581-6361 | 2681 Coleman Hall | Profile

Social Science Education, Britain, Writing, Leadership

Nora Pat Small
Nora Pat Small Professor, Graduate Coordinator
npsmall@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 2526 Coleman Hall | Profile

American architecture, historic preservation, 19th-century U.S. social and cultural

David K. Smith
David K. Smith Professor
dksmith@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 3735 Coleman Hall | Profile

France, early modern Europe

Charles Titus
Charles Titus Assistant Professor Emeritus
ctitus@eiu.edu | 3744 Coleman Hall | Profile

Illinois, U.S. military, U.S., social studies education

Edmund F. Wehrle
Edmund F. Wehrle Professor
efwehrle@eiu.edu | 217-581-6372 | 2576 Coleman Hall | Profile

U.S. labor, international relations

Bailey K. Young
Bailey K. Young Professor
bkyoung@eiu.edu | 217-581-3310 | 3731 Coleman Hall | Profile

Medieval, France, archaeology

Faculty/Staff Login to Update Info

Graduate Tutors