Eastern Illinois University Logo
Communication Studies |



About the Program

For Future Students

For Current Students

For Alumni

Graduate Program

Faculty & Staff


Communication Studies majors are eligible for a number of program-specific scholarships at Eastern Illinois University. Using this simple search engine, we can provide you with a list of these awards and more information about each scholarship's application requirements. You can apply for most of the scholarships using one application. The deadline for the 2014-2015 academic year is Friday, April 3rd at 4:30 p.m.

36 scholarships match your exact criteria.

2016 Distinguished Graduate Student
Al & Vesta Rundle Scholarship
Betty Lou Balasi Scholarship
Carol A. Manhart Sch
Communication Studies Grant-in-Aid Award
Communication Studies Talented Student Award
Daniel E. Marvin Jr. WEIU Scholarship
Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois (DFI) Fellowship
Dr. J. Glenn Ross Scholarship
Dr. Kenneth E. Hadwiger Foreign Cultures Award
Drs. Christine & Larry Helsel Public Relations Sch
Edith Breving Annual Scholarship
EIU and Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) Excellence in Teaching Award
EIU University Professionals of Illinois Graduate Annual Scholarship
Frances Meyer Hampton Graduate Scholarship
Hamand Society of Graduate Scholars
Illinois Broadcasters Association Scholarship
Jack L. Payan Scholarship
John E. & Mary J. Price Scholarship
Jon J. Hopkins Memorial Speech Education Scholarship
Kenneth E. Hadwiger, Ph.D Graduate Scholarship
Kenneth E. Hadwiger, Ph.D. Scholarship
King-Mertz Research/Creative Activity Awards
King-Mertz Research/Creative Activity College Award of Excellence
Mary Coon Cottingham Sch
Mrs. Pratima Niranjan Shah Scholarship
Ralph Y. McGinnis Scholarship
Raymond L. and Carolyn M. Fischer Scholarship
Robert & Kathryn Augustine Distinguished Master's Thesis Award Competition & MAGS Thesis Nomination
Robert and Ann Flick Study Abroad Annual Scholarship
The Cal Smith Civic Engagement Annual Scholarship
The EIU College Thesis Award of Excellence
The Eunice Dougherty Scholarship
The Graduate School Research/Creative Activity Grants
Wang Tih-Wu Scholarship
Williams Travel Grants

Other Scholarships

Three scholarships are awarded through special selection procedures:

Al and Vesta Rundle Scholarship – Established by friends and family of former faculty member Al Rundle, this award is given to a full-time art major, music major or communication studies major. The recipient must have an overall GPA of 3.5. Financial need is a consideration, but not a requirement. This scholarship is coordinated by the College of Arts and Humanities Office. For more information, call their office at 217-581-2917.

Fashing Speech Scholarship – Established in 2006 by communication studies alumnus Colleen Fashing, this awards supports a student who demonstrates strong public speaking skills and an ability to connect current events to a future career. The student receiving the scholarship must complete a manuscript connecting a current event with a future impact on a career and then present a speech to a faculty panel.

Illinois Broadcasters Association Scholarship – Established by the Illinois Broadcasters Association in 2005 to support outstanding students in broadcasting, the award is given annually to a full-time junior or senior majoring in communication studies or journalism and planning to pursue a career in broadcasting. The student shall demonstrate talent, commitment, excellence and professional ambition in broadcasting. A separate application form is required. For more information, contact Mike Bradd at mbradd@eiu.edu.


Each Spring, the Department of Communication Studies honors some of the top students in the department at the annual Awards Banquet. Awards include:

  • Outstanding Senior: Based on academic achievement and involvement in department and university activities.
  • Outstanding Junior: Based on academic achievement and involvement in department and university activities.
  • Outstanding Lab Assistant: Based on contributions to the Hadwiger Computer Lab.
  • Inspired Achievement Award: Presented to a Junior or Senior who has overcome adversity and/or achieved significant accomplishments in their program of study. Students may nominate themselves or be nominated by a faculty member.

Inspired Achievement Award Application Form (.pdf)