Eastern Illinois University Logo
Biology |

Faculty and Staff

Home

About the Program

Apply Now

Why Choose EIU

Undergraduate Programs

Graduate Programs

Faculty and Staff

Resources

Courses

Faculty Portal

Approved Student Drivers

Biology Alumni and Friends

Contact Us

Biology Personnel Log-in Here

Give us a shout

We want to hear from you! Use the contact information below to get in touch with any Department of Biological Sciences faculty member who might be working on something in which you're interested.

Want to know what faculty research projects involve students?  Click here!

Subcategories:
Sandra P. Baumgartner
Sandra P. Baumgartner Stockroom Manager
spbaumgartner@eiu.edu | 217-581-5026 | Room 1021 Life Sciences Building | Profile

Eric K. Bollinger
Eric K. Bollinger Professor
ekbollinger@eiu.edu | 217-581-6653 | 2162 Life Science Annex | Profile

Conservation biology and behavioral ecology of birds and mammals

Gary A. Bulla
Gary A. Bulla Professor and Associate Chair
gabulla@eiu.edu | 217-581-3499 | 2072 Life Science | Profile

Mechanisms controlling mammalian gene expression and development

Thomas Canam
Thomas Canam Associate Professor
tcanam@eiu.edu | 217-581-6608 | 3054 Life Science | Profile

Use of plants for bioenergy and bioproduct applications.

Barbara S. Carlsward
Barbara S. Carlsward Associate Professor
bscarlsward@eiu.edu | 217-581-3223 | 3074 Life Science | Profile

Plant anatomy and molecular phylogenetics

Ruth L. Chesnut
Ruth L. Chesnut Instructor
rlchesnut@eiu.edu | 217-581-2928 | 2021 Life Science | Profile

Robert E. Colombo
Robert E. Colombo Associate Professor
recolombo@eiu.edu | 217-581-3011 | 2027 Life Science | Profile

Anthropogenic impacts on fish populations

Janice Coons
Janice Coons Professor Emeritus
jcoons@eiu.edu | Profile

Plant physiology, horticulture and native Illinois plants

Nancy E. Coutant
Nancy E. Coutant Instructor Emeritus
necoutant@eiu.edu | Profile

Steven L. Daniel
Steven L. Daniel Professor
sldaniel@eiu.edu | 217-581-7840 | 3058 Life Science | Profile

Physiology and Ecology of Anaerobic Bacteria

Jill L. Deppe
Jill L. Deppe Associate Professor
jldeppe@eiu.edu | 217-581-5424 | 3052 Life Science | Profile

Wildlife ecology of birds and mammals

Derrick L. Douros
Derrick L. Douros Laboratory Manager
dldouros@eiu.edu | Biological Sciences | 2134 Life Science Annex | Profile

Holly J. Dust
Holly J. Dust Instructor
hjdust@eiu.edu | 217-581-8372 | 1150 Life Science Annex | Profile

John E. Ebinger
John E. Ebinger Professor Emeritus
jeebinger@eiu.edu | 217-581-6242 | 1050 Life Science | Profile

Eden L. Effert
Eden L. Effert Instructor
eleffert@eiu.edu | 217-581-3731 | 3029 Life Science | Profile

Patrick C. Enstrom
Patrick C. Enstrom Instructor
pcenstrom@eiu.edu | 217-581-7061 | 2021 Life Science | Profile

Ann H. Fritz
Ann H. Fritz Professor
ahfritz@eiu.edu | 217-581-6907 | 3088 Life Science | Profile

Insect behavioral ecology

Gary N. Fritz
Gary N. Fritz Professor
gnfritz@eiu.edu | 217-581-2514 | 1112 Life Science Annex | Profile

Population dynamics, genetics, and evolutionary biology of insects that affect the health of humans and other animals.

Karen F. Gaines
Karen F. Gaines PSM Co-Director, Chair Department of Biological Sciences, Professor
kfgaines@eiu.edu | 217-581-6235 | 2056 Life Science | Profile

Wildlife Ecology, Ecotoxicology, Sustainability of Biofuels.

Michael Goodrich
Michael Goodrich Professor Emeritus | Insect Collection Curator
magoodrich@eiu.edu | 2075 Life Science | Profile

Kai Hung
Kai Hung Associate Professor
khung@eiu.edu | 217-581-2500 | 3028 Life Science | Profile

Microbiology

Cheryl R. Laursen
Cheryl R. Laursen Instructor
crlaursen@eiu.edu | 217-581-6389 | 2074 Life Science | Profile

Jeffrey R. Laursen
Jeffrey R. Laursen Professor
jrlaursen@eiu.edu | 217-581-3914 | 2112 Life Science Annex | Profile

Snail/trematode interactions at the ecological and cellular levels

Pamela Levine
Pamela Levine Pre-Health Advisor
plevine@eiu.edu | Biological Sciences | 2058 Life Science | Profile

Zhiwei Liu
Zhiwei Liu Professor
zliu@eiu.edu | 217-581-8319 | 2025 Life Science | Profile

Systematic entomology, population genetics, and evolution of species interactions in gall wasp systems.

Anabela Maia
Anabela Maia Instructor
amresendedamaia@eiu.edu | 217-581-6360 | 1013 Life Science | Profile

Functional and ecological morphology of locomotion mechanics of fish.

Steven H. Malehorn
Steven H. Malehorn Greenhouse and Biology Prep Room Manager
shmalehorn@eiu.edu | Biological Sciences | Thut Greenhouse | Profile

Scott J. Meiners
Scott J. Meiners Professor
sjmeiners@eiu.edu | 217-581-3425 | 1116 Life Science Annex | Profile

Factors that influence the dynamics and regeneration of plant communities.

Michael Menze
Michael Menze Associate Professor
mmenze@eiu.edu | 217-581-6386 | 2029 Life Science | Profile

Adaptations to extreme environments and cell engineering

Andrew S. Methven
Andrew S. Methven Professor Emeritus
asmethven@eiu.edu | 217-581-6241 | 3078 Life Science | Profile

Mushrooms

Susan E. Mounce
Susan E. Mounce Instructor
semounce@eiu.edu | 217-581-8372 | 1150 Life Science Annex | Profile

Britto P. Nathan
Britto P. Nathan Professor and Graduate Coordinator
bpnathan@eiu.edu | 217-581-6891 | 2154 Life Science Annex | Profile

Neuroscience with special interest in neurological diseases

James M. Novak
James M. Novak Interim Associate Dean, College of Sciences and Associate Professor
jmnovak@eiu.edu | 217-581-3328 | 2118 Old Main | Profile

Ecological genetics.

Antony O. Oluoch
Antony O. Oluoch Instructor
aooluoch@eiu.edu | 217-581-6383 | 3062 Life Science | Profile

Human Anatomy

Charles L. Pederson
Charles L. Pederson Professor
clpederson@eiu.edu | 217-581-6239 | 1044 Life Science | Profile

Algal ecology and physiology, water quality and ecotoxicology.

Nida S. Sehweil-Elmuti
Nida S. Sehweil-Elmuti Instructor
nselmuti@eiu.edu | Biological Sciences | 2076 Life Science | Profile

Paul V. Switzer
Paul V. Switzer Professor
pvswitzer@eiu.edu | 217-581-6951 | 1054 Life Science | Profile

Animal behavior and behavioral ecology.

Gordon C. Tucker
Gordon C. Tucker Professor | Herbarium Curator | Environmental Biology Coordinator
gctucker@eiu.edu | 217-581-6240 | 3027 Life Science | Profile

Specialist on the sedge family

Yordan S. Yordanov
Yordan S. Yordanov Asst. Professor
ysyordanov@eiu.edu | 217-581-6384 | 3076 Life Sciences | Profile


Faculty/Staff Login to Update Info