Eastern Illinois University Logo
Board of Trustees |

Meet the Board

Mr. Rene M. Hutchinson - Chairperson

Mr. Rene M. Hutchinson

Mr. Rene M. Hutchinson was named to the EIU Board of Trustees in October 2011. Previously, he had served on the Eastern Illinois University Alumni Association's Board of Directors since 2003.

Mr. Hutchinson retired from Allstate Insurance in November 2013 after 27 years of service, working in various areas of the company, including finance, underwriting, agency sales and compliance. He is an active member of the community, speaking to Chicago area high school students regarding the importance of education.

Mr. Hutchinson received his bachelor of science degree in business from EIU in 1974.

Mr. Joseph R. Dively - Vice Chairperson

Joseph R. Dively

Mr. Joe Dively was named to the EIU Board of Trustees in October 2011. He is chairman and CEO of First Mid-Illinois Bancshares Inc., based in Mattoon, Ill. Mr. Dively's business career includes service as a senior vice president for Consolidated Communications and in sales and management roles with IBM and Caterpillar.

A Charleston native, Mr. Dively has served his alma mater as president of the Alumni Association, chair of the Business School Advisory Board, and as a member of both the EIU Foundation Board and the Panther Club. He has been an active member of the business community, serving as chair of the Illinois Chamber of Commerce, president of the Charleston Chamber of Commerce, chair of the Sarah Bush Lincoln Health System, and on the board of the Illinois Bankers Association.

He received his bachelor of science degree in business from EIU in 1981, and was presented the Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2003.

Dr. Jan Spivey Gilchrist - Secretary

Dr. Jan Spivey Gilchrist

Jan Spivey Gilchrist of Olympia Fields was appointed to the EIU Board of Trustees in May of 2013. In addition to having earned her bachelor’s degree in art education from Eastern in 1973, she was named a Distinguished Alumna by the EIU Alumni Association in 1992 and is recognized on the EIU Notable Alumni website.

An award-winning writer and illustrator, Dr. Gilchrist has exhibited extensively throughout the United States, Asia, Africa, Europe and the Caribbean. She has won numerous awards and commissions throughout her career, and has also written and illustrated picture books, including Obama: The Day the World Danced, the first picture book in the U.S. about the historical election. Dr. Gilchrist has also illustrated many of Eloise Greenfield's books, including the acclaimed The Great Migration: Journey to the North.

The Girl Who Buried Her Dreams in a Can, a picture book autobiography written by Dr. Tererai Trent, Oprah Winfrey’s “all time favorite guest," was published in Fall 2014. Her collaboration with Ashley Bryan on the book, My America, featured in “The Road to the White House,” has been the inspiration for the Bryan/Gilchrist Collaboration Award, given to the children who can best work together on a collaborative enterprise.

She was inducted into the International Hall of Fame for Writers of African Descent in October 2000. She was also inducted into the prestigious Society of Illustrators in 2001.

Mr. Kristopher Goetz - Member Pro-Tem

Mr. Kristopher Goetz

Mr. Kristopher M. Goetz of Lombard was named to the EIU Board of Trustees in October 2011. He has spent the past decade in the healthcare industry where he has served as a consultant to hospitals nationwide, leading operational and quality improvement initiatives. He is currently a Vice President at Kaufman Hall in Skokie, Illinois, where he is accountable for leading strategic cost management initiatives at hospitals nationwide. Mr. Goetz’s expertise in Six Sigma and lean process improvement methodologies has resulted in significant improvements in patient safety and hospital operations. He has published several articles on patient care finance, improving quality and safety in hospitals, and implementing high reliability principles in risk management arenas.

Mr. Goetz earned his bachelor’s of arts degree in psychology from EIU in 1998 and his master’s degree in clinical psychology from EIU in 2000.

Mr. Timothy Burke

Tim Burke

Timothy Burke was appointed to the EIU Board of Trustees in March 2015. Mr. Burke earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Eastern Illinois University in 1971 and 1972. A certified public accountant, Mr. Burke currently is with William Blair & Company in a risk management capacity after having served as a partner and the company’s chief financial officer. Previously, he was with Arthur Andersen for more than 20 years and a partner in the firm’s Financial Services group.

While at Andersen, Mr. Burke led a World Bank project in Indonesia to reform the nation’s securities markets. Mr. Burke is a member of the Board of Directors of Health Care Service Corporation, which is the holding company for Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois, Texas, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Montana; the Board of Directors of the Mather Foundation; and the Board of the Eastern Illinois University Foundation. He was the president of the Foundation Board in 2012 and 2013. He is a member of the AICPA, Illinois CPA Society, and the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association. Mr. Burke, originally from Mattoon, and his wife reside in Evanston, Ill.

Mr. Daniel P. Caulkins

Daniel P. Caulkins

Daniel Caulkins, who was appointed to the EIU Board of Trustees in November 2015, earned his bachelor’s degree in business from Eastern in 1973. Mr. Caulkins has more than 40 years of business and management experience, as well as experience in local government. Currently, he is the vice president and COO of Patterson House Inc., which operates homes for adults with developmental disabilities. In addition, he assists in the operation of Franciscan Properties Inc. in West Chicago.

Mr. Caulkins serves on the board of directors of the Central Illinois Capital Development Board and presides over FISH Ltd., a Decatur, Ill.-based civic organization. He is active in the Decatur Area Arts Council and previously served on the Decatur City Council (2005-2009). He is a veteran of the U.S. Army and the Illinois National Guard. Mr. Caulkins and his wife, Jo, have lived in Decatur since 1978.

Ms. Catie Witt - Student Representative

Catie Witt

Catie Witt is currently a junior at Eastern Illinois University and intends to graduate from EIU in May of 2017 with a double major in Communication and Political Science. Ms. Witt is originally from Carlinville, Ill., where she graduated from Carlinville High School as her class president. She has been continuously involved in various organizations on campus including Student Government, Alpha Gamma Delta Fraternity, PanHellenic Council, and the Political Science Association.

Ms. Witt has held many leadership positions in these organizations. She is currently the executive vice president of the student body, where she was appointed to the Board of Trustees as the student representative. She has also held the positions of Alpha coordinator and correspondence chair in Alpha Gamma Delta, vice president of membership development and women’s development chair in PanHellenic Council, and she is also the treasurer of the Political Science Association.