Contact Us


Welcome to the EIU Department of Chemistry!

Click on each category in the left column to see more options/links.


CONGRATULATIONS to our Fall 2013 Dean's List majors:


Marcquita Batiest            Eric Brown               Lauren Humphrey

Rachael Johnson              Olga Livshits           Savannah Kapper          

Megan Schutzbach          Nicholas Smith



Our current Graduate Students (SP 14):

Ashley Anderton (USA)    Anu Akmeemana (Sri Lanka)    Mayoorey Murugathasan (Sri Lanka)  

Shuxin Luo (China)        Suzanne Walker (USA)    

Hafsah Klfout (Saudi Arabia)     Ben Walusiak (USA)       Austin Welti (USA)   

Xiao Xiao (China)   Guang "Alan" Yang (China)



2013 Chemistry Award Winners


 (Click on name to see picture)

College of Science Awards:


Ann Frommel Memorial Scholarship

Megan Schutzbach

Murray and Sally Walters Scholarship

Nicole Lee

G.B. DUdley Memorial Award

Olga Livshits


EIU Foundation: Livingston Lord Scholarship

Tayler Kuenneth



Departmental Awards:


George L. Cunningham Scholarship

Olga Livshits

Harris E. Phipps Scholarship

Savannah Kapper and Lauren Humphrey

Edward O. Sherman Memorial Scholarship

Megan Schutzbach, Lauren Humphrey, and Savannah Kapper

Sidney R. Steele Student Summer Award

Ashley Anderton and Ben Walusiak

Richard L. and Ellen A. Keiter Undergraduate Research Fellowship

Zachary Price

Harris E. Phipps Freshman Scholarship

Rachel Dorris

Robert and Shirley Karracker Scholarship

Megan Schutzbach

Outstanding Junior Seminar

Jed Veach, Suzanne Walker

Outstanding Senior Seminar

Morgan Roberts

Outstanding Teaching Assistant

Heather Schoonover

Distinguished Graduate Student

Kelly Harmon

CRC General Chemistry Achievement

Nicholas Smith, Robert Skolik, Tyler Pierson

ACS Division of Polymer Chemistry Award

Savannah Kapper

Analytical Chemistry Award

Suzanne Walker

Senior Recognition Award:

Kim Logsdon, Suzanne Walker, Lena Elmuti, Ben Mehl, Nathan Ulrich, Jed Veach, Cody Gass, Felicia Roland, Logan Hurst


Department News

Congratulations to Dr. Richard L. Keiter, Distinguished Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, for being named a 2013 Fellow of the American Chemical Society.


Congratulations to recent MS Chemistry Graduates Rajan Giri, Mihiri Weerasinghe, Kelly Harmon, Morgan Roberts, and Heather Schoonover, and MSNS Graduate Jon Obrecht.

Apply for Undergraduate Fall Research here.

Alumni news....

Paid summer research opportunities: