EIU Thut Greenhouse

Built in 1962, the H.F. Thut Greenhouse serves as the Biology Department’s botanical conservatory and as a facility for growing plants for research and classroom use. The 3400 square foot building is located next to the Life Sciences Building on the campus of Eastern Illinois University.

Life Science Building and Thut Greenhouse location on campus


Contact one of the following individuals for greenhouse access and tours:

Contact Office Phone email
       
Steven Malehorn Greenhouse 217-581-3126 shmalehorn@eiu.edu
Dr. Thomas Canam Life Science Bldg 3054 217-581-6608 tcanam@eiu.edu
Dr. Barbara Carlsward Life Science Bldg 3076 217-581-3223 bscarlsward@eiu.edu
Dr. Janice Coons Life Science Bldg 2023 217-581-6243 jcoons@eiu.edu
Dr. Scott Meiners Life Science Annex 1116 217-581-3425 sjmeiners@eiu.edu
Dr. Gordon Tucker Life Science Bldg 3027 217-581-6240 gctucker@eiu.edu

 


Campus Tree Inventory Location Maps
Booth Library Archives: EIU Campus, 1902 to 1950
Specimen trees on the campus of EIU- A Walking Tour
Thut Presentation: EIU Campus, 1899 to 1973

 



Resources:

    Bio 3312 Horticulture Plant Index
    EIU Threatened and Endangered Plant Research Program
    Landscaping and Restoration using Illinois Native Plants
    Prairie Restoration - A Digital Aid Featuring Seeds, Seedlings and Fruit