Vitalization Project Task Force Doudna Lecture Hall September 29, 2016

The first meeting of the Vitalization Project Task Force was held on Thursday, September 29, 2016, at 3:00 p.m. in the Doudna Lecture Hall. All members of the Workgroups were invited to attend the meeting as well as other interested individuals from the campus community.

Dr. Glassman reported that 218 people were nominated for the Workgroups, some were self-nominations and others were nominated by individuals or constituencies on campus. He expressed his gratitude for the interest and willingness to serve. The Workgroups were populated by the President in consultation with the CUPB Executive Committee.

The Vitalization Project Task Force is composed of nine Workgroups with a total of 58 members and the President's Liaison Subcommittee consisting of the CUPB Chairperson, a faculty member, a non-faculty employee, and the University attorney. The vice presidents are also members of the Task Force, and the Chair of the Task Force is Ryan Hendrickson. Public announcements are to be made collaboratively by Dr. Ryan Hendrickson, the Task Force Chairperson, and Mr. Rob Miller, the President's Liaison Chairperson. The President's charge is that the Task Force carefully consider how we can transition our university structure, programs and services to succeed and excel in the rapidly changing higher education environment.

The Task Force will meet at least two times between September 29, 2016, and January 1, 2017, and minutes of the meetings will be recorded by Ms. Judy Gorrell, Executive Assistant to the President.

The membership of Workgroups one through seven shall end by January 31, 2017, and the membership of Workgroups 8 and 9 shall end by June 30, 2017. The Task Force shall be active no longer than June 30, 2017. If a vacancy in the Task Force occurs, the CUPB Executive Committee will forward a recommendation for the replacement to the President.

Recommendations from the Task Force will be provided to the President and are to be prioritized within each of the categories. Workgroups No. 1-7: Recommendations for targeted investments; for reducing costs and greater efficiency; for improvement plans to be developed; on viability to suggest deletion or exploring outsourcing, and for any other purpose. Workgroup No. 8: Recommendations for increasing enrollments through targeted investments in new and existing programs; for modernizing existing programs to enhance marketability; for greater accessibility to adult and online learners; on promoting EIU's signature programs; on non-traditional degrees such as micro-degrees or subject matter expert programs, and for any other

purpose. Workgroup No. 9: Recommendations to enhance university marketability and enrollment growth through reorganization of EIU's Colleges, Schools and Departments; to accommodate increased numbers of students through creative programming schedules; on tuition strategies; for targeted investments; and for any other purpose.

President Glassman announced the Chairs of the Workgroups: Dr. Rick Roberts, Chair of the Department of Counseling and Student Development, will serve as Chair of Workgroup No. 1, Student Services, Mr. Ryan Gibson, Webmaster and Director of web and Mobile Applications, will serve as Chair of Workgroup No. 2, University Technology, Mr. Jody Stone, Senior Associate Director of Housing and Dining, will serve as Chair of Workgroup No. 3, Enrollment Management, Ms. Tami Babbs, Assistant Comptroller, will serve as Chair of Workgroup No. 4, Intercollegiate Athletics, Dr. Steven Daniels, Chair of the Department of Physics, will serve as Chair of Workgroup No. 5, Facilities, Dr. Richard Flight, Associate Professor of Marketing will serve as Chair of Workgroup No. 6, Marketing and University Branding, Ms. Cindy Rich, Instructor of Secondary Education and Foundations, will serve as Chair of Workgroup No. 7, Academic Programs, Dr. Jeff Stowell, Professor of Psychology, will serve as Chair of Workgroup No. 8, Academic Visioning I, and Dr. Melinda Mueller, Professor of Political Science, will serve as Chair of Workgroup No. 9, Academic Visioning II.

Ms. Lola Burnham asked if the Workgroup meetings would be open meetings, and Dr. Glassman responded that the meetings would be open. Each Workgroup will develop its meeting schedule.

Dr. Glassman encouraged the Workgroups to call on administrators and other people from the campus community to meet with them and provide additional information or explain available data.

Each Workgroup met briefly following the meeting of the entire Task Force to become acquainted with the other members of the Workgroup. Dr. Glassman noted that a roster of members of the Vitalization Project Task Force will be published on the webpage today or tomorrow.