Phyllis J. and Gary C. Rogers Education Annual Award



Established in 2014, The Phyllis J. and Gary C. Rogers Education Annual Award was created to honor the teaching careers of Phyllis J. Rogers '57 and her late husband, Gary C. Rogers '61 and '65. Both were previous members of the EIU Alumni Association Board of Directors. The award is to assist with textbook rental and other student fees. Criteria for selection are as follows: The recipient must be a full-time student admitted to Eastern Illinois University and a declared elementary education major at the freshman or sophomore level at the time of the award. The recipient(s) must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0. The recipient(s) must demonstrate community involvement and extracurricular activities. The recipient(s) may only receive the award one time. The award(s) shall be announced in the spring and paid one-half in the following fall and one-half in the spring semester to Eastern Illinois University to be first applied against costs of textbook rental and other student fees associated with the recipient(s) attending Eastern Illinois University. The amount of the award will be $1,000 each, with multiple recipients as funds are available.

Additional Information

To apply

Major(s): Elementary Education
Year in School: Freshman, Sophomore
Renewable: No
Semester Awarded: Fall , Spring
When to Apply: Spring
Deadline: February 1
Contact: Chair, Early Childhood, Elementary, & Middle Level Education - 217-581-5728

Print this page

Permanent Link