Ray & Evelyn Duncan Teaching Scholarship



Established in 2004, this scholarship was created to benefit students enrolled, or accepted to be enrolled, full-time at Eastern Illinois University in a program that leads to teacher certification. Criteria for this scholarship are as follows: Applicants will be nominated annually by the principals of the high schools of Crawford, Jasper, Cumberland, Clark, Richland, and Lawrence Counties in Illinois. The nominations must reach the office of the Dean, College of Education and Professional Studies no later than March 1. The recipient shall be a student who is a resident of Crawford County. If there is no suitable recipient from Crawford County, applicants from Jasper, Cumberland, Richland, and Lawrence Counties may be considered. The recipient must have a cumulative GPA of 2.65 on a 4.0 scale. The recipient must be enrolled, or accepted to be enrolled, full-time at Eastern Illinois University that leads to teacher certification. Preference will be given to students demonstrating financial need. Preference will also be given to an incoming freshman with consideration given to additional upper class candidates if availability of funds permit. Upper class candidates are not required to have the nomination of a principal. Each applicant must present a signed statement declaring his/her intention to become a teacher and one letter of recommendation that evaluates the student's potential as a teacher. The recipient may be eligible to receive the award again provided he/she continues to meet stated criteria. The award shall be announced in the spring and paid in the fall to Eastern Illinois University to be first applied against costs (tuition, fees, housing, etc) associated with the recipient attending Eastern Illinois University. For more information, contact the College of Education and Professional Studies.

Major(s): Early Childhood Education, Elementary Education, Health Studies, Kinesiology and Sports Studies, Middle Level Education, Secondary Education & Foundations, Special Education
Year in School: Incoming Freshman, Junior, Senior
County(s): Clark, Crawford, Cumberland, Jasper, Lawrence, Richland
Renewable: Yes
Semester Awarded: Fall
When to Apply: Spring
Deadline: Nominations from identified County Schools due no later than March 1st
Contact: Dean, College of Education & Professional Studies - 217-581-2524

Print this page

Permanent Link