Graham R. Lewis Memorial Poetry Award



Established in 2012, This award was created to honor the memory of Graham R. Lewis, an alum and first-year writing professor at Eastern Illinois University who wrote both fiction and poetry, for which he received numerous awards. Criteria for this award are as follows: Any recipient must be a full-time or part-time undergraduate or graduate student in good academic standing, accepted to Eastern Illinois University. The recipient(s) must write a poem or short-work of fiction inspired by, based upon, or otherwise "borrowed" from the writings of the late Graham R. Lewis. Past examples of Graham Lewis' work will be available in Booth Library via the e-Reserves service. Nominees will perform their work at the "Graham Slam" (public performance, poetry slam setting) and award recipients will be chosen at the slam. The works are to be reviewed by the selection committee in advance. The performances at Graham Slam shall be judged by the audience. Applicants may submit multiple works and receive multiple awards, provided that the first, second and third place awards shall be made to different individuals. The selection committee shall determine the format and rules of Graham Slam. The selection committee may elect to allow persons not eligible to receive the scholarship funds to perform at Graham Slam. The award shall be announced and paid in the spring semester to Eastern Illinois University to first be applied against costs (tuition, fees, housing, etc.) associated with the recipient(s) attending EIU. Complete guidelines are available in the English Department Office CH3135.

Additional Information

For more information

Major(s): English
Year in School: Freshman, Sophomore, Junior, Senior, Graduate
Renewable: No
Semester Awarded: Fall
When to Apply: Spring
Deadline: January 31, 2017
Contact: Chair, English Department - 217-581-2428 -- Dr. Daniel Tessitore -

Print this page

Permanent Link