Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Department of Journalism

Alumni News

Send your alumni news to:


Design display
EIU instructor Liz Viall stands in front of the design display in Buzzard Hall.

EIU journalism grads display design work

(April 2011)

A new display outside the Journalism Department in Buzzard Hall showcases the design work of EIU journalism graduates.

"We'd like to put up a couple of displays during the year," instructor Liz Viall said. "We'll collect more work over the summer and, perhaps, get a new one ready in the fall."

This display features page design work by: Reagan Branham, class of '98,  of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Sean Stangland, class of '01, of the Daily Herald in Arlington Heights, Ill.; Mike Rice, class of '95, of the Arizona Daily Star in Tucson; Jane Ruppert, class of '09, of the Herald & Review of Decatur, Ill.; Matt Daniels, class of '08, of the Oswego (Ill.) Ledger-Sentinel; Tyler Angelo, class of '10, of Suburban Life Publications of Chicago; Nora Maberry, class of '05, of the St. Joseph (Ill.) Leader; Juliette Beaulieu, class of '09, of the News & Advance of Lynchburg, Vir., and the News & Messenger of Manassas, Vir.; Kristina Peters, class of '09, of the Northwest Herald of Cyrstal Lake, Ill.; and Matt Meinheit, class of '05, formerly of The Times of Munster, Ind.



December 2010 Journalism graduates

Astrouski, Joseph M.—Broadcast News Concentration
Corbett, Ashley B.—PR Concentration
Cruz, Megan L.—No Concentration
DeGrandis, Phillip A.—Broadcast News Concentration
Garcia, Brittni M.—No Concentration
King, Miranda L.—Photojournalism Concentration
Leon, Michael G.—PR Concentration
Piurek, Kyle R.—PR Concentration
Provaznik, Brandy L.—Writing & Reporting Concentration
Rockey, Alycia R.—Photojournalism Concentration
Sottosanto, Samantha L.—No Concentration
Wafford, Cari M.—No Concentration



Burke, Medina

Jean Wright Medina, left, and Amy Carr Burke, far right, were honored as the Journalism Department's Alumnae of the Year Oct. 22. Center is Dr. John Ryan, director of student publications.

Alumnae of the Year

(October 2010)

Two former editors of The Daily Eastern News who have established careers in public relations and the magazine industry have been named Alumnae of the Year by the journalism department.

Jean Wright Medina, class of 1988, and Amy Carr Burke, class of 1989, will be honored at a luncheon Oct. 22 during Homecoming Weekend.

Recipients of the award must have attained a positive professional reputation and must have continued to support the department or student media following graduation.

Medina is the managing director of external communications at United Airlines. She oversees global media relations, public relations, crisis communications and the company’s in-flight magazine Hemisphere.

Burke is the executive editor at Time Out Chicago, a magazine that covers leisure-time activities offered in the Windy City.

She has held her position since 2004, helping to oversee the entire editorial operation, ensuring that the magazine gets out on time and on budget and serving as a liaison among editorial and other departments and the public.

Both Medina and Burke previously worked as reporters for the Daily Herald in Arlington Heights.

“Jean and Amy have distinguished themselves in their careers and we’re certainly proud to call them graduates of our program,” explained John Ryan, chairman of the department’s Outreach and Service Committee. “They were obvious choices for this honor this year.”

Both have returned to campus to speak to classes and share their professional expertise with students, Ryan said.

Previous award winners are 2001: Jim Hanks, ‘46 and Jim Roberts, ‘46; 2002: Chris Soprych, ‘95; 2003: Pat Coburn, ‘65; 2004: Mike Cowling, ‘75, and Lori Miller, ‘79; 2005: Lisa Green Newhouse, ‘86; 2006: Jeff Britt, ‘88; 2007: Ted Gregory. ‘81; and 2008: Richard Fox, ‘71.



Golf 2010

golf tourney 2010

Journalism alumni participated in the Seventh Annual Gene Seymour Open last month to raise money for the  Gene Seymour Memorial Scholarship in sports journalism and other scholarships awarded to EIU J-students each year. Left to right, Jason Burzynski, Brandon Pump, Larry Kienzler, and David Pump ('99) try to read the Charleston Country Club greens.

Photo by Brian Poulter

Related Pages

Contact Information

Journalism Department

2521 Buzzard Hall
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
(217) 581-6003

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit

Give to EIU

Every gift made to Eastern Illinois University -- whether it's big or small -- makes a difference. EIU's generous donors are helping our students fulfill their dreams every day, and you can be part of that.

Learn more about how to make your contribution today!