Eastern Illinois University Logo
Graduate School |

Political Science


Prospective Students


Current Students

Accelerated Graduate Programs

Graduate Assistantships

Faculty and Staff


EIU Innovate- Listen to our Podcasts

Give a Gift

2018 Graduate Expo

Integrative Graduate Studies Institute

Contact Us



Jeff Ashley, Ph.D.

Jeff Ashley, Ph.D.

Office: 2345 Coleman Hall
Phone: 217-581-8418
Fax: 217-581-2926
Email: jsashley@eiu.edu
View Full Profile

Department Website
Catalog Description

Dr. Jeff Ashley, professor of political science, currently serves as the graduate program coordinator of graduate study. The graduate program offers a Master of Arts in Political Science, an online Option in Public Administration/Public Policy, and an online certificate in Public Planning.

Dr. Ashley teaches American government, state and local politics and public administration. His research interests center primarily on tribal sovereignty and environmental policy. Publications include three books and numerous articles and book chapters on topics ranging from the separation of powers and environmental policy to tribal sovereignty and the social impact of former first lady, Betty Ford. Professor Ashley served as Chair of the Political Science Department during the 2009-2012 period, and he continues to serve as the faculty advisor for Model Illinois Government. Admission to the graduate program in political science requires an application to the Graduate School as well as an additional application to the Department of Political Science through MyEIU. Please contact Dr. Ashley or visit the program's website for program admission criteria.

firstchoiceprogram Graduate programs achieving the distinction of "First Choice" have applied for and been subjected to rigorous review from EIU's Council on Graduate Studies — with oversight from The Graduate School — to ensure they meet the highest standards of scholarly excellence as evidenced through sustained achievement of criteria developed and adopted by the council in 2006.

Master of Arts in Political Science