Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU Department of Communication Studies

Study Abroad

The Department of Communication Studies encourages students to participate in study abroad opportunities. There are few experiences that can enhance a university education as much as studying abroad. The two types of programs available are:

  1. Short-term, faculty-led programs
  2. Individual programs with semester or year-long options.

Read about the Summer 2016 trip to Ireland here!

Short-Term Programs

The department currently operates short-term, faculty-led programs to Australia / New Zealand and to Ireland.

General Information About Study Abroad Programs in Communication Studies

Study Abroad in June of 2013 in Australia & New Zealand

Things to do and see in Australia and New Zealand

Semester and Year-Long Study Abroad Opportunities

Eastern offers students the opportunity to study at over 30 locations around the world. The Communication Studies Department has identified four specific locations you might find interesting:

University of Otago (New Zealand)- The University of Otago was founded in 1869 by an ordinance of the Otago Provincial Council and is New Zealand's oldest university. The Department of Communication Studies at Otago is an interdisciplinary program that has been developed in response to the recognized need for graduates who understand the processes, effects, and cultural implications of communication in the Information Age. The campus is located in Dunedin on the South Island.

Massey University (New Zealand) - Massey University is one of New Zealand's leading educational institutions. It's a state-funded university with a proud 70-year tradition of academic excellence and a strong national and international reputation. The communications program brings together the Communication Management and Journalism Studies program and the Expressive Arts and Media Studies program into an integrated, comprehensive and unique program. Massey University has campuses in Auckland, Wellington and Palmerston North, all on the North island.

Central Queensland University (Australia) - Central Queensland University is an internationally, nationally and regionally networked and engaged university based in Rockhampton, Queensland. Communication programs include mass communication, public relations, multimedia and political communication. Campuses are located in Rockhampton, Gladstone, Mackay, Bundaberg and Emerald. Campuses in Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney and Fiji cater to international students.

Griffith University (Australia) - Griffith is an innovative university committed to multi-disciplinary teaching and research, and the creation and communication of knowledge. The Griffith community comprises students from more than 80 countries and academic staff who set a rigorous pace in the achievement of research and teaching excellence. Griffith offers programs in business communication, mass communication, multimedia and public relations. Campuses are located in Gold Coast and Logan (Brisbane).

Financial Assistance

The Department of Communication Studies and the Office of Study Abroad both offer financial assistance for students. Students interested in financial assistance from the department need to complete an application (pdf).

Where can I get more information?

You can get more information from the Office of Study Abroad (1207 Blair Hall) or contact the Department of Communication Studies.

Related Pages

Contact Information

Department of Communication Studies

Coleman Hall 1260
600 Lincoln Ave Charleston, IL 61920
Fax: 217-581-5718

Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit

Give to EIU

Every gift made to Eastern Illinois University -- whether it's big or small -- makes a difference. EIU's generous donors are helping our students fulfill their dreams every day, and you can be part of that.

Learn more about how to make your contribution today!