Recent Searches

Loading Search Results...
Loading Directory Results...



Recent Pages

Recent Searches

EIU College of Arts and Humanities

Spotlight: Faculty Honors and Awards

Journalism Chair Inducted into the College Media Association Hall of Fame

Sally Renaud

Dr. Sally Renaud, chair of the department of Journalism, was inducted into College Media Association’s John A. Boyd Hall of Fame in October 2017 at the Dallas Sheraton as part of the Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Association Fall National College Media Convention.

Sally has made a deep impact on the college media industry. Through her work as an adviser and professor, she has inspired many students, and through her service to College Media Association and other journalism education organizations, she has welcomed and mentored many advisers,” said Kelley Lash, CMA president.

Many CMA members tell us that Sally was the reason that they joined or volunteered for our organization, so her influence goes far beyond her own work,” said Lash. “We are thrilled to honor Sally and have her join the prestigious group of Hall of Fame recipients.”

Dr. Renaud currently serves as chair of the journalism department at Eastern Illinois University, where she has taught and advised since 2004. She also serves as executive director of Society for Collegiate Journalists and Illinois Journalism Education Association. She also serves on the board for the Illinois Press Foundation. For Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC), Renaud coordinated the “Issues Facing the College Press,” the CMA research panel for several years, from 2010-2016, at the annual AEJMC convention, with Council of Affiliates.

Dr. Renaud graduated from the University of Missouri’s Journalism School and worked in sports and news at small newspapers in Missouri and Colorado. She received her master’s degree from Central Missouri State University (now University of Central Missouri) and Ph.D. in journalism from Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. Before her time at EIU, she served as director of the journalism program and Student Publications, and adviser for The Bulletin at Emporia (Kan.) State University from 1995-2004.

Dr. Renaud has been a tireless volunteer and leader in College Media Association. She served as president from 2009-2011, vice president of member services from 2001-2003, and currently serves on its Advisory Council. Since joining CMA in 1995, she has chaired multiple committees including Adviser Awards, Yearbook, Newspaper, and Magazine. She has coordinated sessions and keynotes for CMA’s conventions, had participated in the organization’s critique program, and reviews articles for its flagship journal, College Media Review.

The John A. Boyd Hall of Fame Award is the most prestigious honor given by CMA, recognizing longtime members whose dedication, commitment and sacrifice have contributed to the betterment and value of student media programs of both their campus and the nation. It also recognizes the contributions of members who have devoted extensive and varied service to CMA on committees, the board of directors and other leadership roles and who have presented insightful, relevant and well-prepared programs and sessions. Those considered for this award must have contributed to college journalism education for 20 years or more while being an active member of CMA.

English Emeritus Faculty Wins Prestigious Book Award


Dr. John Guzlowski, a distinguished emeritus professor from EIU's Department of English, won the 2017 Benjamin Franklin Booksellers Award for Best Book of Poetry.

Philosophy's Aylesworth chosen for the EIU 2017 Undergraduate Mentor Award

Undergraduate Mentor Award for Academic Year 2017

Former Vice-President for Academic Affairs and Provost Blair Lord awards Dr. Gary Aylesworth, Professor of Philosophy, the College of Arts and Humanities Undergraduate Mentor Award for Academic Year 2017.

Art and Design Chair's work featured in prominent St. Louis gallery

Kahler gallery

Christopher Kahler, Chair of the Department of Art and Design and Professor of Art and Painting, had his work as a featured exhibit from November 10, 2016 through January 7, 2017 at the Bruno David Gallery in St. Louis.

Communication Studies Professor selected as 2016-17 Faculty Laureate

Jones Rich

Dr. Richard Jones, Associate Professor of Communication Studies, was selected as Eastern Illinois University's 2016-2017 Faculty Laureate.  View Dr. Jones' faculty profile here.

History's Curry recognized with the 2016 Distinguished Faculty Award

Lynne Curry

Dr. Lynne Curry, Professor of History, received the EIU 2016 Distinguished Faculty Award.  View Dr. Curry's faculty profile here.

Music Professor receives the 2016 Provost's Undergraduate Research Mentor Award

Danelle Larson

Dr. Danelle Larson, Associate Professor of Music Education, was chosen to be the recipient of the 2016 Provost's Undergraduate Research Mentor Award for the College of Arts and Humanities.  View Dr. Larson's faculty profile here.

History's Foy receives the 2016 Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor Award


Dr. Charles Foy, Associate Professor of History, received the 2016 Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor Award.  View Dr. Foy's faculty profile here.

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Coordinator named 2015-2016 Faculty Laureate

Jeannie Ludlow

Dr. Jeannie Ludlow, Associate Professor of English and Coordinator of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, was selected as the EIU 2015-2016 Faculty Laureate.  View Dr. Ludlow's faculty profile here.  Read Dr. Ludlow's 2015 Convocation Speech here.

English Professor recognized with two prestigious EIU awards in 2015


Dr. Suzie Park, Professor of English, received BOTH the 2015 Undergraduate Research Mentor Award and the Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor Award for 2015.  View Dr. Park's faculty profile here.


Related Pages

Contact Information

Graduation Certification


Publicity and Promotion


Doudna Fine Arts Center


Director of Development


Take the next step

apply now
schedule a visit

Give to EIU

Every gift made to Eastern Illinois University -- whether it's big or small -- makes a difference. EIU's generous donors are helping our students fulfill their dreams every day, and you can be part of that.

Learn more about how to make your contribution today!