Newsletter Sections

Contact Information

Mar 30, 2013


Proposals for grants from the Proposal Initiative Fund (PIF) are due by noon on May 8, 2013. The purpose of the PIF is to support projects with potential to lead to significant external funding. Eligible projects include -- but are not limited to -- research, creative activity, service, curriculum development, and outreach. All university personnel are welcome to apply for PIF grants. For complete program guidelines and application instructions, click here.

BOB CHESNUT, Director, Research and Sponsored Programs
Posted: Oct 08, 2012

If you are working on an article, a book chapter, a grant report or any other writing project, you might be interested in the "write-on-site" group that meets in the Faculty Development Office every Wednesday from 9 to 11 a.m. during the spring semester.

What does it mean to write-on-site? The term was coined by Kerry Ann Rockquemore (president and CEO of the National Center for Faculty Development & Diversity) and describes people coming together to work on their particular projects for two hours at least once a week. Although people are working on their own projects, writing together in one place can provide the accountability of showing up, cultivate the sense that we are part of a community of writers and help create that energy buzz that comes from being around others who are doing the same thing. Please join us. Bring your laptop to the Faculty Development Office (in Booth Library basement below the north entrance), check in, grab a cup of tea or coffee and start working. For further information, contact the Faculty Development Office at 581-7051.

WANDA KAY ROBINSON, Faculty Development
Posted: Jan 08, 2013

Michael Dobbs, assistant professor of management, has a long-held research interest in sports leagues. He was recently tapped to provide expertise about a new sports league that is trying to gain momentum -- the American Ultimate Disc League. The article was picked up by many major newspapers, including the Miami Herald, Kansas City Star, Ft. Worth Star-Telegram and the Charlotte Observer. To read the full article (on the Miami Herald website), see here, or visit the School of Business website.

David Fleming, assistant professor of marketing, and his co-author Andrew Artis, associate professor of marketing at the University of South Florida, received the best paper in track award for the Marketing Education Track at the 2013 Marketing Management Association Conference held as part of the MBAA International Conference at the Drake Hotel in Chicago on Feb. 27 through March 1, 2013. Their paper, titled “Trends in Academic Research: A 15-Year Analysis of Published Research in Marketing Journals,” examined the content of what are generally regarded as the top six marketing journals in the years of 1994, 2004 and 2009 to determine what trends were occurring in the articles published, in order to provide guidance for Ph.D. students and young researchers on the skills they need to acquire in order to publish in these top flight journals. For details, visit the School of Business website.

In 2011, Mary Konkle (chemistry), Britto P. Nathan (biological sciences) and Michael A. Menze (biological sciences) formed a collaboration to investigate the contribution of oxidative stress to Alzheimer's diseases. This project was possible through an Interdisciplinary Research in the Sciences (IRIS) Grant funded by the EIU College of Sciences. Two undergraduate students -- William Fernandez (biological sciences) and Logan Erbacher (chemistry) -- investigated the complex interactions between oxidative stress and cellular health of the brain. Part of this research was used to enter the "Posters on the Hill" competition organized by the Council of Undergraduate Research (CUR). The CUR received 800 applications, and 60 projects were chosen to showcase the work of undergraduate researchers from across the country to members of Congress and federal grant agencies on April 23-24, 2013. Konkle and Menze will join Logan and William on a trip to Capitol Hill to disseminate their research project, "Examining the Role of Estrogen and Oxidative Damage in Alzheimer's Disease," for members of Congress.

The Office of Recognition and Awards of the Society for the Teaching of Psychology (APA Division 2) is pleased to announce that Jeffrey Stowell has been selected as a recipient of a 2013 Instructional Resource Award. He will receive a cash award of $1,500 to support a project titled "Video Clips of Master Teaching."

The IRA program is an international competition among members of the Society for the Teaching of Psychology designed to encourage and reward instructional research relevant to the teaching of psychology and to stimulate the development of teaching-related materials that may, among other things, be reviewed and distributed by the Office of Teaching Resources in Psychology. Annually, the Office of Recognition and Awards administers up to five IRA proposals of $1,500 that fulfill these program purposes.

Michael Menze, associate professor of biological sciences, and Mary Konkle, associate professor of chemistry, recently attended the Council of Undergraduate Research Dialogues in Washington D.C. CUR Dialogues are designed to bring faculty and administrators to interact with federal agency program officers and grant funders to promote proficiency in writing grant proposals, finding new funding opportunities, and understanding funders' priorities and requirements. In addition the Dialogues provide an opportunity for funders to learn the interests, needs and concerns of researchers.

Rob Colombo, associate professor in biological sciences, joined eight graduate students and one undergraduate recently in attending the 2013 Illinois American Fisheries Society Meeting at Rend Lake. Vaskar Nepal, Amanda Wildenberg and Sarah Huck received Larimore AFS Student Research Awards, while David Ollesch received an AFS Travel Award. Oral and poster presentations were given by Amanda Wildenberg, Cassi Moody, Sarah Huck, Ryan Hastings and Vaskar Nepal, Manisha Pant, Sharon Rayford and Adam Hughes. EIU also won the Boat Paddle Award for the second consecutive year.


Month: Day: Year: