Sep 01, 2014


Research and Creative Activity

In collaboration with Faculty Development, Research & Sponsored Programs will sponsor "Electronic Searches for Grant Opportunities" from 4 to 5 p.m. Monday, Sept. 15, in 4450 Booth Library. Several search engines on the Research & Sponsored Programs website are useful for seeking grant opportunities. Participants will learn important search techniques and methods of conducting regular, automated searches for external funding. To register, please go here.

KRISHNA THOMAS, Faculty Development
Posted: Aug 29, 2014

Michael D. Gillespie, assistant professor of sociology, recently presented his research at the annual meeting of the Society for the Study of Social Problems in San Francisco, Calif. His presentation, “The Geography of Poverty and Food Insecurity: Food Justice and the Social Safety Net,” focuses on poverty and food insecurity in east central Illinois. As part of this same meeting, Gillespie moderated a panel of national and international poverty policy experts and scholars at a one-day workshop focused on innovative program and policy responses to poverty workshop.

Posted: Aug 27, 2014

Todd Bruns, institutional repository librarian at Eastern, has been named a 2014 IR All-Star by the bepress Digital Commons group. Since the launch of EIU’s repository, The Keep, in early 2012, Bruns has dedicated himself to making it a successful, supportive and vibrant part of campus. The Keep, an electronic, open-access database, contains materials generated on campus or of local interest.

More than 30,000 documents have been added to the database, with more added daily. Those materials have been downloaded by users from across the world more than 234,000 times. The Keep is accessible through the library’s website.

Among the unique collections in The Keep that were cited by bepress officials are the EIU theatre arts collection and the Wesley Whiteside Botanical Garden collection.

More on Bruns' award can be found on the Booth Library website. In addition to serving as EIU’s institutional librarian, Bruns serves as a reference and research librarian at Booth Library. He may be contacted at 581-8381 or via email at To access The Keep, visit here.

ELIZABETH HELDEBRANDT, Library Services -- Dean's Office
Posted: Aug 27, 2014

If you are working on an article, a book chapter, a grant report or any other writing project, you might be interested in the “write-on-site” group that meets in the Faculty Development Office (in Booth Library's basement, below the north entrance), from 9 to 11 a.m. every Wednesday.

What does it mean to write on site? Kerry Ann Rockquemore coined the term to describe people coming together to work on their particular projects for up to two hours at least once a week. Writing together in one place can provide the accountability of showing up, cultivate the sense that we are part of a community of writers and help create that energy buzz that comes from being around others who are doing the same thing. Please join us. Bring your laptop to the Faculty Development Office, check in, grab a cup of tea or coffee and start working.

WANDA KAY ROBINSON, Faculty Development
Posted: Aug 27, 2014

Booth Library is the recipient of the 2014 Illinois Library Association Demco Library Innovative Award. This award recognizes a library’s achievement in planning and implementing an innovative or creative program or service that has had a measurable impact on its users. The award is sponsored by Demco, one of the nation’s leaders for library supplies.

The Demco Library Innovative Award will be presented at the Illinois Library Association Annual Conference Awards Luncheon at noon Oct. 14 at the Prairie Capital Convention Center in Springfield.

Using the model of inclusivity, Booth Library in 2013 developed a creative series of programs that expanded the reach of a national grant far beyond the walls of the library. “America’s Music: A Film History of Our Popular Music from Blues to Bluegrass to Broadway,” funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities, American Library Association and Tribeca Film Institute, supported a film series focusing on varied genres.

However, library staff saw the opportunity to both educate and entertain the larger area community through a wide variety of unique programming offered both on the EIU campus and in six communities in the region.

Read more about the library's honor at the Booth Library website.

Posted: Aug 26, 2014

Effective Aug. 15, 2014, Marko Grunhagen has been named the director of the new Sustainable Entrepreneurship through Education and Development (SEED) Center at Eastern, into which the outreach services of the former Business Solutions Center have been integrated. The primary focus of SEED is to foster collaboration among students, researchers and educators, and practicing entrepreneurs to promote, through integrative learning, an understanding of starting and managing a profitable business.

Grunhagen is a Lumpkin Distinguished Professor of Entrepreneurship and a professor of marketing for the School of Business.

MAHYAR IZADI, Dean, Lumpkin College of Business and Applied Sciences
Posted: Aug 20, 2014

The Council on Faculty Research grant competition will be held in early September. The council supports research and creative activity. Proposed projects must address a significant scholarly issue. All tenured/tenure track faculty in Bargaining Unit A, department chairs and associate chairs are eligible to submit in the Fall 2014 (FY 2015) competition. Individuals may receive only two consecutive fall awards, after which they will be ineligible for a fall award in the third year. Eligible persons who wish to apply for funding from the CFR should either apply online or hand-deliver one copy of their proposal to the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, 1102 Blair Hall, no later than noon, Wednesday, Sept. 10, 2014. To obtain a copy of the application materials, applicants can contact the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs at 581-2125, email Mary Mattingly (, or visit the CFR Web page.

BOB CHESNUT, Director, Research and Sponsored Programs
Posted: Aug 11, 2014

Next Section