Eastern Illinois University Logo
Alumni Services |

Distinguished Senior Awards

Alumni Association

Commemorative Courtyard


Panthers Doing Us Proud

Scholarships and Awards

EIU Staff Resources


About Us

Related EIU Links


University Advancement

Contact/Visit Us


The most distinguished seniors at EIU are individuals who have enriched the university community with their active involvement in all facets of campus life. The Distinguished Senior Awards recognizes those who have demonstrated outstanding character and leadership through academic achievement, campus and community involvement, and/or extra-curricular honors or awards. This year's recipients will be recognized during a luncheon on Saturday, April 28, 2018.


Nominations and applications for the 2018 Distinguished Senior Awards are now being accepted.  The deadline is Friday, March 23, 2018. 


About the Distinguished Senior Awards

Award Criteria

To apply for this honor, students must meet the following criteria:

  • Must be graduating in the Spring, Summer, or Fall 2018.
  • Have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher.


Eligible students may either apply or be nominated.

Award Selection and Presentation

Up to 25 recipients will be chosen and recognized during a luncheon held in their honor on Saturday, April 28, 2018. More information will be sent to those selected the second week in April.

2017 Recipients

 2017 Distinguished Seniors

Left to right—front row: Maralea Negron, Katie Price, Greta Dieter, Kelsie Abolt, Brittany Jones, Alexis Garner, Yuan Yuan; middle row: Larissa Kmetz, Jennifer Mazurkiewicz, Baylee Dibble, Kharis Campanano, Paxson Menard, Leon Mire; back row: Catelin Witt, Greg Rogers, Lucas Johnson, Austin Parrish, Nathan Gayheart, Riley McInerney, and president of the Alumni Association board of directors, Terry Prillaman ’81. Not pictured: Bryn Buckwalter, Rachel Garippo, Ruth Garippo, Ivy Handley, Megan Ivey, and Molly Newland.