Eastern Illinois University Logo
Student Life |

Student Government

Student Life Office

Student Organization (RSO)

Major Campus Events

Late Night Dances

Awards and Scholarships

Assistantships and Internships


Student Involvement

Related Links

Contact Us


Student Government at EIU is comprised of three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial. All positions are filled by current Eastern students and positions are available each semester. Student government offices are located in the Martin Luther King Jr. University Union on the second floor within the Student Activities Center. Student Government meetings are held Wednesdays at 7 p.m. in the Arcola/Tuscola room of the union.


Student Government will strive in every aspect of their respective office to promote diversity, leadership, service and integrity. Student Government members shall maintain a progressive state of mind in order to respect the student body in regards to their positions. Student Government will protect the rights and interests of the students while also enhancing the quality of the EIU experience through the power that is vested in them by Eastern Illinois University.

For more information on Student Government, go to the Student Government website or email studentgov@eiu.edu.