Declaring a Major or Minor

Declaring a Major 

If an undergraduate is listed as undeclared and wants to declare a major, he/she must do so at the Academic Advising Center (Ninth Street Hall).

If an undergraduate student (with fewer than 60 s.h.) is presently a declared major in a department and wants to change that major or declare a second major, he/she must fill out the appropriate forms in the Office of the Registrar, 1220 Old Main. Ms. Jennifer Porter (jlporter@eiu.edu) is the person who handles these changes.

If an undergraduate student (with more than 60 s.h. or has applied for graduation) is presently a declared major in another department and wants to change that major or declare a second major, he/she must contact the appropriate Certifying Dean's Office for the new major. 

College of Arts & Humanities - Betsy Miller (bemiller@eiu.edu)
College of Education & Professional Studies - Bonnie Wilson (bkwilson@eiu.edu)
College of Sciences - Angie Rhoads (amrhoads@eiu.edu)
Lumpkin College of Business & Applied Sciences - Amy Annis (amannis@eiu.edu)
B.A. in General Studies - Lori Brewer (ldbrewer@eiu.edu)

If you need to check which college the new major is in, click here for the majors by college.

Please note, that If you are currently enrolled in the BGS degree program, and want to switch majors, you must:

  • Complete a paper undergraduate application for admission through Undergraduate Admissions which can be found here. To apply online, click here.
  • Send an email to the BA in General Studies Degree Program, bgsba@eiu.edu , stating that you are withdrawing from the program.

Declaring a Minor

If an undergraduate is listed as undeclared and wants to declare a minor, he/she must do so at the Academic Advising Center (Ninth Street Hall).

If an undergraduate student (with fewer than 60 s.h.) is presently a declared major in a department and wants to add a minor, he/she must fill out the appropriate forms in the Office of the Registrar, 1220 Old Main. Ms. Jennifer Porter is the person who handles these changes.

If an undergraduate student (with more than 60 s.h, or has applied for graduation) is presently a declared major and wants to declare a minor, he/she must go to their major Certifying Dean's Office.